Book Review: Bloodmaiden

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The author provided me with a copy of this book to review.

Much like vampires and werewolves, Dragons are a generally overused genre. It is hard to come by a book that involves dragons that doesn’t seem to be a repeat of every other dragon related book. However Christine Schulze managed to give dragons a refreshing view with Bloodmaiden.

That being said, I did find a few issues with the book. The first chapter or two felt slow, which isn’t always an issue as I realize the book has to start somewhere and often establish a bit of background and character development. However, once over that tiny hump the rest of the story seemed rushed, perhaps a bit too much for my liking. I realize that when a book involves characters doing a lot of traveling, like the ones in this one were doing, the book can become very dull and repetitive very quickly. And considering the characters had to travel between four different kingdoms in order to save the day so to speak, it would have been an absolute snore of a read to have chapter after chapter going on about them traveling. Now there were helpful bits along the way to speed the character through their travel, which basically boiled down to magical transportation at the end of each part of their quest. It was an interesting concept and certainly helped to avoid the inevitable travel time.

The character interactions along the way were fairly good. Though I wasn’t entirely surprised when certain relationships were introduced, perhaps I’m just good at predicting these kind of things. One little twist in the story I did enjoy was involving Tash’s true identity along the way. That part I had no clue of until it jumped out and bit me. Sometimes the most unexpected of surprises are the best. Of course I also didn’t expect her close relationship with Pan and Brydon. So the book was certainly full of surprises.

Overall I thought the book was good, it had an interesting storyline, fairly well developed characters and a well written plot. My biggest concern was that it was a bit too rushed, like the ending was being forced upon the reader without giving enough story to reach the ending. I think I would have liked to see the story flow a bit slower, add some extra elements to the story so that its not a case of travel, talk to dragons, get what your looking for, teleport our and then loop back to the beginning and travel once more. I certainly would not be opposed to visiting the books setting again, seeing how the characters have grown since the end of the book and get more history about the lands and beings within.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Bloodmaiden

Leave a Reply

