It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Last week I finished the following books:

       

I received The Wrangler in a Goodreads contest and was thrilled when it arrived in the mail. I had meant to read it as soon as I got it in my hands however several things kept me from it so I only recently got around to it. I thoroughly enjoyed the story of Griff McPherson and Val Hunter. Though I will admit I initially didn’t like Griff based solely on his appearance in The Last Cowboy also by Lindsay McKenna, but he did manage to redeem himself in The Wrangler.

Bet On A Cowboy was an interesting read. I wasn’t sure how well the story would be considering it was about a cowboy going on one of those reality programs that matches a man up with eligible woman to try to get a wife. Granted he did this to gain money to help his mother and never expected to fall in love with the shows director. All in all it was a good read and I did enjoy it quite a bit, more so towards the end than at the beginning.

This week I plan to read:

   

I actually started reading The Assassin’s Curse back last week however I’m having a very hard time getting into the story. Perhaps it is because it’s written in first person, or I simply haven’t reached the part of the story where it picks up yet but this is a very slow read for me at the moment. I refuse to give up on it though as many of the reviews I have read for it say how good the book is. I’ll just have to wait and see if those are true.

The Scorpio Races was a book I started reading back in July. It was certainly an interesting concept and I managed to make it halfway through before setting it aside for a bit. Now my problem has been picking it back up. I hate leaving a book unfinished so this week is going to be spent attempting to finish these two novels.

Depending on my progress on these two novels and whether I can truly get into them again or not I may pick up a few others books that are begging for attention. More likely than not I will be working on typing up a few reviews that were put on the back burner.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m finishing Chris F. Holm’s Dead Harvest, and will be starting his second book, the Wrong Goodbye. This is looking like a great series, at the nexus of Dashiel Hammett and Clive Barker.

Leave a Reply

