Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we are listing our Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About (you can define older however you wish. Basically just back-listed books you think are great. Basically the point is to share books that could be forgotten about in the midst of all the new releases).

Though I tend to read a lot of “older” books since I am not always a fan of what is currently being published this is actually quite challenging for me. Strictly because there are so many books out there that I love and don’t want people to forget about. These books shall be listed in no particular order since they are all great books.

  1. Watership Down by Richard Adams. Some might think that a book written about wild rabbits would be dull. However, for those of us who have read Watership Down we know what a great story this is.
  2. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry. Alright I will admit I still haven’t read this book, however I have seen the movie and the TV series based upon the book and know how downright amazing those were. Plus when many people think of good western writers Larry McMurtry’s name is often mentioned.
  3. Green Rider by Kristen Britain. I love the Green Rider series, though the first book will always be my favorite among them. Such an interesting story, well developed characters and great twists it really is a book that should not be forgotten.
  4. The Wayfarer Redemption by Sara Douglass. Another great Fantasy novel. The Wayfarer Redemption is the beginning of a series sharing the same name. It’s expansive plots, varied characters and setting really have such great appeal.
  5. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. While there have been a great number of book, and movies for that matter, telling the story of King Arthur in various forms, The Mist of Avalon puts a nice twist on it as it is told from the perspective of the women involved in his life.
  6. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. What a great series. I remember reading it way back when in public school and I’m glad to see it’s not only still around but getting a bit of a facelift with the new movies. I actually recently picked up a copy of the series because I wanted to read it again and eventually share it with my son once he gets old enough to read it.
  7. The Courtship of Princess Leia by Dave Wolverton. I realize it may be strange to pick a novel in the middle of such a huge series as the Star Wars series is, but I have a good reason for this. The Courtship of Princess Leia was the first Star Wars novel I read shortly after the Original Trilogy was remastered and released into theaters. It was the book that started by love of Star Wars novel, much like how the movies started my overall love of the series as a whole. So while I want all of the Star Wars novel to be forever remembered, this particular novel holds a special place in my heart.
  8. The Paperbag Princess by Robert Munsch. Or anything by Robert Munsch for that matter. While these books are still quite popular today I would hate to see them ever be forgotten. I grew up reading Robert Munsch books and now my son is also getting into them, and oddly enough The Paperbag Princess is his current favorite Munsch book, likely because we just got it the other week.
  9. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. Another book from my childhood that I absolutely love. However the fact that it is now considered a banned book really irks me. What is so wrong about talking animals? Apparently a lot because parents complained and now it’s banned. Stupid thing is I bet most of those parents grew up with this book and lost their sense of fun and wonderment upon reaching adulthood so chose to remove good books from the lives of theirs and others children.
  10. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell. The story of Black Beauty is such an amazing one. Told by Beauty himself the story chronicles his life through goods times and bad. This is a book that sticks with you and begs to be read again and again. It would be a shame to have this book forgotten.

While I could have listed different books than these or in fact added more I stopped myself with these ten. Thing is there are so many good older books out there it is really hard to pick. What older books do you not want people to forget?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

