Top Ten Tuesday Part 2

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we are listing our Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About (you can define older however you wish. Basically just back-listed books you think are great. Basically the point is to share books that could be forgotten about in the midst of all the new releases).

I realize I already did my list today but the thing is there are so many other books that truly deserve not to be forgotten that I felt the need to do a second post. Honestly I could probably list a good fifty books or so that should not be forgotten, likely more, but I’m going to restrict myself to ten, again. You can find the first part of this list here.

  1. White Fang by Jack London. A story about hardship and survival White Fang really is a great book.
  2. Books by Roald Dahl. The Witches, James and The Giant Peach, The BFG, and many more. Roald Dahl’s books are truly fantastic and deserve to be passed down to the next generation.
  3. Call of The Wild by Jack London. Another Jack London book. Call of The Wild is a truly great tale.
  4. Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathon Swift. Due to being written in 1726 this book may not appeal to everyone but it is a book that should be given a chance as it is a great story.
  5. Anything considered a classic. I’m talking Jane Austin, Charlotte Bronte, Bram Stoker, Charles Dickens, Jules Verne and others of that era. While I haven’t read these books I know they are extremely important to literature and must never be forgotten.
  6. The Brothers Grimm books. Again something I haven’t read but plan to at some point.
  7. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster. While I can’t for the life of me clearly remember what happens in this book I do know I read it back in public school and it has stuck with me ever since. It’s really one of the first books I remember reading in school even if the details are a bit fuzzy.
  8. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling. Or any of his other books. This could likely be lumped in with those considered classics but I felt it needed it’s own bit of the lime light.
  9. The Wizard of Oz series by L. Frank Baum. Another classic. Many people will think of the movie when they think of The Wizard of Oz, but the books are also amazing and really need to be kept around for others to enjoy in the future.
  10. Moby Dick by Herman Melville. Again it’s considered a classic but this story needs to be separated from the lump sum category and be given proper attention.

So that’s twenty books between the two posts. I promise I’ll stop here, but know there are plenty more books out there that deserve to be listed here.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Part 2

Leave a Reply

