Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is Top Ten Tuesday REWIND (pick a past topic that we’ve done that you missed or just want round 2 of!).

There are so many great Top Ten Tuesday topics to choose from that I had a hard time picking which one to do this week. After much debate I finally decided to do the Top Ten Childhood Favorites. The main reason is because that’s when my love of books started and also with my son interested in reading lately I get to revisit a lot of my favorite childhood books along with discovering new ones.

  1. The Three Billy Goats Gruff. Though there are multiple versions of this book it is by far my top favorite from my childhood. I read it more times than I can count and love the fact that somehow we managed to get three different copies of it for my son. The great thing is he loves it too.
  2. The Paper Bag Princess. I love all Robert Munsch books but my all time favorite of his is The Paper Bag Princess.
  3. Misty of Chincoteague. One of the first horse books I remember reading as a kid. This was a great story and the start of Marguerite Henry’s series about Misty and her life.
  4. King of The Wind: The Story of The Goldophin Arabian. Another Marguerite Henry book. This book was my favorite of all her horse books and I have kept my copy of it through the years, I look forward to the day I can share it with my son and hope he enjoys it as much as I did.
  5. Charlotte’s Web. Sure a great story and the movie was amazing as well, I’m talking the original cartoon movie not the recent live action movie. Shame this book made it’s way onto the banned books list, I shall continue to love it regardless.
  6. The Witches. All of Roald Dahl’s books are great but The Witches is my favorite among them. I lost track of how many times I read this one growing up.
  7. Where The Sidewalk Ends. While not your typical children’s book the poems in this and Shel Silverstein’s other books are filled with poems that are enjoyable again and again.
  8. Chronicles of Narnia. So this is actually a series but these books are something I remember reading back in public school and seeing that they are still around and getting a fresh new look thanks to the new movies means kids today get to enjoy them as well. Not to mention those of us who grew up with them get the chance to revisit the story anew.
  9. The Phantom Tollbooth. The details of this book are a bit fuzzy to me, but I remember reading it in grade eight I believe and the book has stuck with me ever since even if I can’t tell you what it was about.
  10. One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish. This and any other Dr. Seuss book were huge parts of my early childhood.
6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I love Shel Silverstein. I remember being introduced to him on the day he died (I was in first grade, so my teacher read us poems) and I laughed so hard at both the poems and the illustrations. That will definitely be one of my favorite reading memories from my childhood 🙂

    Jane

Leave a Reply

