Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books To Get In The Halloween Spirit.

I’m not sure I can make it to ten this week, since I can’t really think of many Halloween books that I have read, but I shall give it a try.

  1. It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown by Charles M. Schulz. While I have to admit the video of this is better than the book it’s still something I think of around Halloween time. Can’t wait to read this to my son but also to have him watch it on T.V. so he too can enjoy it.
  2. Dracula by Bram Stoker. Not much need of an explanation here. It’s a classic and the best part is the vampires don’t sparkle. A must read for Halloween time.
  3. Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley. Yet another classic that is a must read for this time of year.
  4. It by Stephen King. A story about a clown, a scary, scary clown. While I haven’t read the entire book yet, it’s huge and I haven’t had much time for reading the last two weeks, it still gives me the willies and thus is a great Halloween book.
  5. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving. I read this years ago and it definitely comes to mind every time Halloween rolls around.
  6. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake. I only just started reading this book but it definitely has that scary feel to it. Hopefully it will not disappoint, but I’m adding it here because at this point I think it deserves to be listed. Plus it happens in a town that’s about four hours from where I live and visit frequently, how cool is that.
  7. Goosebumps by R.L. Stine. I remember reading a lot of these as a kid and it was really my first look at scary stories. Granted they weren’t exactly scary but I do remember enjoying them.

Well I almost made it to ten. The thing is I tend to watch more scary stuff than read it, that’s something I need to change in the future. So what do you read to get in the Halloween spirit?

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Glad you’re enjoying Anna- very cool that it takes place near you. I’ve never read It, and I think I skipped it because of the clown aspect. Too scary for me! King’s books definitely are perfect for Halloween though. Happy spooky reading 🙂

  2. So happy that you had The Great Pumpkin… It didn’t occur to me to include it as a book! I too had Goosebumps — that series seems to be very popular with this challenge.

Leave a Reply

