It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreadingIt’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

It’s been far too long since I’ve done any actual reading. The last book I read was way back in October. The reason for this huge gap in reading? Well firstly there was NaNoWriMo back in November. I had hoped to be able to balance writing as well as reading that month but it’s quite obvious that never happened. When NaNoWriMo came to an end I found myself bogged down for a good two weeks of things I had severely neglected in order to get my word count in. After that the pre-Christmas rush began and once again I was swamped with things, including baking all kinds of delicious cookies, so my reading was put off even more. Christmas saw me acquire a few new books but even then I wasn’t able to pick any up. Now as I sit here with the New Year only a hand full of hours away I’m craving to get back into reading. My biggest problem is deciding which book to read first.

I want to start the year off with a bang, pick up a really great book to set the pace for the remainder of the year. My hope is to not only read a whole bunch of good books but to push myself even more and set a nice high reading goal. I’m not one hundred percent sure what that goal will be yet but it will be decided upon come tomorrow. With several shelves worth of books vying for my attention, not the mention the plethora of books sitting on my Kindle, if it incredibly hard to pick what to read next. So to ease the burden for this post, I am going to list a few books that, while they may not be read starting tomorrow, they will be read in the upcoming year no matter what, because I have been wanting to read them forever and just keep putting them off for one reason or another.

Leave a Reply

