Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013.

Well I’m not entirely sure I can come up with ten reading goals for the year, but I will give it a go and see how far I can get.

  1. Finish reading series. Seems like almost every time I pick up a new book it starts a series, and I already have a large number of series on the go. It’s time to set aside some time and give the remaining books in those various series the attention they deserve because I do want to know what happens next.
  2. Read books that have sat on my shelf for too long. Oh I can’t even tell you how many books I have excitedly bought, wanting to read them right away and there one reason or another they end up on my shelf never to be touched again. Time to give those books some love and see if they were well worth the wait.
  3. Reach and surpass my 2013 reading goal. I’m actually well on my way to doing this now. Last year I set my goal at 12 books and ended up reading 38. This year I set my goal at 50 though I would really love to be able to double that if I can keep up my current reading goal.
  4. Read all those Kindle Freebie Books. Okay, well maybe not all of them this year considering I have something like 400 or so books I have gotten free from Amazon. But I would like to start putting a dent in those as well, so many of them sound really good but I just haven’t made the time to read them.
  5. Go to the library. I admit this one seems odd considering I’m an avid reader, but the fact is I’ve lived in this town for six years and have never set foot in the library. It makes me sad to admit that but I just tend to buy books I want to read instead of borrowing them, but this will change this year.
  6. Visit as many used book stores as I can. I love book stores, any book store, but there’s something about walking into a used book store and seeing rows of books that other people have enjoyed and some that they didn’t. Plus you can often find a lot of old titles that are almost impossible to get through new book stores or even online. And the smell of used books, I don’t know, it’s appealing to me, it’s like walking into a regular book store with something extra as well. And lastly, from personal experience it’s also a great way to stumble upon books that have been signed by the author.
  7. Find more new authors to read. I’ve done of pretty good job of this in 2012 and hoping to continue into this year. I love discovering authors I had not previously heard of or those I might have heard of but had yet to read any of their books and finding out what amazing work they have out there. Sure, you are bound to find a few duds along the way, but that is part of the joy of reading, if stumbling upon the good, the bad and the ugly.
  8. Join a book club. Ah this one might be hard. First off because I live in a small town and not sure if there even are any book clues here. And secondly because I am horribly shy and do my best to avoid social interactions. But darn it, I love books and since my husband doesn’t read I have almost no one to talk books with.
  9. Read more to my son. My kid loves book and we’ve probably read every book he owns a good dozen times or more, and trust me that kid has a library of his own in his room. But I do want to share my love of books with him, so I try to make sure to buy him at least one new book every time I get myself something from the bookstore and then we sit down and read it as a family.
  10. Try to get my husband to read. This will be another difficult one. I challenged him to read just one book last year and gave him a month to do so. He of course picked the most insanely boring book he could find, The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien, and needless to say he didn’t even make it one hundred pages into it before the month was up. He admits it was a bad choice but getting him to pick and read something else this year will be challenging. Maybe I’ll try to get him to read the Darksiders novel since he enjoys playing those games.

Well, looks like I made it to ten without much issue. Some goals will be easy, some will be harder but I’m definitely looking forward to getting to them and seeing just how many of them I can accomplish this year. So, what bookish goals do you have for the year?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Oh I hope you find a nice book club. I’m in two, one with co-workers and one with neighbors. It’s fun to get out and have book chats. I’m less shy than I used to be, but I still struggle with it a bit. This is going to make me sound like a drunk, but a glass of wine usually loosens me up enough to get over the jitters and get to talking. Wine+books+friends=Good times. Best of luck!

  2. Since I am a librarian, I would advocate checking out your local library! 🙂 But I love the used bookstore goal too. I want to visit several in my area on my days off. I will have to get onto that–thanks for the inspiration! Swing by my Top Ten if you get a chance!

    • I plan to! I have a list of books to try to get from it as well! So many librarians! I couldn’t do that job only because I’d be too distracted by being surrounded by so many books that I’d never get any real work done.

Leave a Reply

