Book Review: Unforgiven

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of the book to review via NetGalley.

Right from the beginning this book took hold of me, begging for my attention and throwing all kinds of interesting plot twists at every chapter.

The characters were very well developed not just their histories together but also as they made their way through the events of the story. You could see some change, others refusing to, while others made you question what they were doing at all. It didn’t matter if they were minor characters or the main character, they all played important roles in the story even if it wasn’t revealed until near the end. There were a few characters who roles were very small and yet I have several questions that went unanswered about them, the main one being Kate LaFord, I still want to know what she’s all about. So I can only wait for the next book in the series to come out (which will be at the end of this month).

Overall my favorite part was the actual suspense when it came to solving Ginny’s murder after eleven years. The reason I enjoyed it so much is because the story was ever changing, clues from the past that hadn’t been present during the initial investigation popped up, new suspects came into the light while some older ones were believed innocent. The twists and turns kept me wonder, guessing who did it, and just when I thought I had it all figured out something new would op up and leave me trying to figure things out once more. It was this mystery that I loved and yet frustrated me at times because I just couldn’t figure it out. In the end, when it was revealed who the murderer was I definitely kicked myself for not coming to that conclusion. Granted I at one time suspected that person but shifted my attention to another based upon certain events.

While some would consider this to be a romance novel I didn’t think the romance aspect of it was strong enough for that classification. After all Destry and Rylan really can’t be together because Ginny’s murder has put a barrier between them. Yet it shows that love can endure through even the toughest of situations.

My one issue was that the ending, being the epilogue after the murder was finally solved, just seemed like a quick way to tie up several loose ends and didn’t really flow well like the rest of the book did. In fact I feel like there should have been a couple more chapters instead of that single small epilogue to put all the pieces together.

In the end, I thoroughly enjoyed with book, it was suspenseful, touching and kept me on my toes throughout all of it. I will definitely be looking for more from this author as those few books I have read by her really were great reads.

 

Leave a Reply

