Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever.

  1. Ananna from The Assassin’s Curse. Not only did I think Banana every time I read her name, but she’s also a magical pirate that spends most of the book in the desert and did no actual pirating throughout it. None to mention I just found her character to be all out annoying from page one. If I could I would have reached through the pages and smacked her.
  2. Naji from The Assassin’s Curse. Magically assassin’s who spends far too much time being half dead because of the curse inflicted on him by Ananna. Add to that he doesn’t really do any assassinating and he became a very frustrating character to read.
  3. Madison from Big Sky Mountain. A four year old who was able to speak far too clearly, including several complicated words. Not to mention her presence in the book seemed to turn the focus away from the actual story line for the majority of the book. Children should be portrayed appropriately for their ages, not as miniature adults!
  4. Edward Rochart from Ironskin. He was such a bland character it really ruined the book for me. Add the fact he was barely in the book for the first half and the frustration grew.
  5. Max Ridell from Amazing Grace. I actually didn’t think his character was all that terrible for the majority of the book, but when it reached the scene where he got mad at Grace when she didn’t tell him she was a virgin before they made love I wanted to punch the guy. He went from nice guy to insensitive bastard instantly and even the ending didn’t full redeem him in my eyes.
  6. Alexa Fitzwalter from Guardian of Honor. Right from the start she frustrated me. I understand why she acted the way she did, considering she was just thrust into a new world and had little choice in what she could do but it was still frustrating for quite some time. Eventually Alexa grew on me as her character progressed through the story but that first impression of her will always stick out at me as a negative thing and the reason it took me several months to read the entire book. This was also the first book I read on my Kindle so my frustration with the device may have led to a greater frustration with the book.
  7. Thrall from Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects. Thrall has always been such a strong character throughout World of Warcraft lore, but in this book he was more on the pathetic side. Take away the mantel of Warchief and you’ve just got a useless Orc who doesn’t have a place in the world.
Leave a Reply

