It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted This Week:
Colton: Rodeo Cowboy by C.J. Carmichael. – I could have swore I posted this one when I read this back in October but it somehow slipped through the cracks and so I posted it this week.

Books I Read Last Week:

Last week got off to a slow start reading wise. I spent Monday and most Tuesday deep in the blog world, visiting those I normally frequent and some I only recently found. When Tuesday night came I decided to pick up The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle, since it’s been on my to read list for quite some time. I did not expect to finish it that night but a few hours later I was done. I had seen the movie several years ago and really enjoyed it so I wanted to read the book that inspired the movie. Though I plan to post the review soon I will say one thing now, I was slightly disappointed in the book because I had seen the movie first since I didn’t seen any differences or changes from book to movie version.

After finishing this I moved on to Cujo by Stephen King.This is another book that I have wanted to read for some time and was happy to finally get around to it. The first bit of it was already but tended to bounce back and forth in the timeline of events. It wasn’t too distracted but then as the story progressed I didn’t find it as good as I had hoped it would be. Horror it was not in my opinion, suspense sure, but not horror. It may have been scary back when it was written but it just didn’t feel scary to me. I won’t go into more details at this time, as I’m saving that for my review but overall while the book was fairly good and only took me a few hours to read it just wasn’t what I had hoped it would be.

From here I read a bit more from The Forgotten Queen but I did not put a huge dent in it like I was hoping for. I’m about half way, if not a little passed that. Needing to change books for a bit I started working on Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop. This one I’m not too sure what to think of it. It’s weird and yet not so much that I’m not interested in it. So far I just can’t quite figure out where the story is going but I do know that I was to finish it. Currently I’m coming up on the half way mark of the book.

After a shopping trip on Saturday I found myself in possession of a number of used books along with a new copy of World War Z by Max Brooks. I have been solidly resisting Zombie books for some time now, I just didn’t see the reading appeal to them. But this book kept popping up nearly everywhere I looked and the reviews were always positive. So I thought about getting it as an audiobook and listened to a sample. But the problem was I can only get the abridged version in Canada and I do not want to buy half of a book. So I broke down and bought the book at Chapters so I could get the whole story. I started reading it last night and while I didn’t get far because of starting it late in the evening I have to say I’m enjoying it so far.

Books I Plan To Read This Week:

Since I have a number of on the go but not quite finished books I plan to spend this week finishing them off to clear out my currently reading pile. On top of The Forgotten Queen, Daughter of the Blood and World War Z I also have some books I started last year that got put aside for one reason or another and I really want to get those officially finished before picking something new up. These books are Throne of Glass my Sarah J. Maas, which I only read about two chapters before setting aside even though I was highly enjoying it. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, I’m about half way done this but just needed a break from the flopping back and forth perspectives of the main characters and haven’t taken the time to pick it up and finish yet. Duke: Deputy Cowboy by Roz Denny Fox, this one I only made it about a chapter in before I put it down, I was a bit burned out of Western Romances at the time and needed a break from it. If I can manage to get all of these ones done I will look to my enormous to read list and see what pops out at me. I also have a small number of reviews I need to type up as well before I get too far behind on them, especially since I have been reading more books instead of writing reviews for the ones I finished a while ago.

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Leave a Reply

