It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Books I Read Last Week:

World War Z was the type of book I have been avoiding for some time now. I have wanted nothing to do with the Zombie trend and yet this book seemed to taught me at every turn, showing up on blogs and everywhere I looked. So I did the only thing I could, I broke down got the book and read it. I won’t go into much details about the books now, as I will save that for the review, but let me just say I was surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. It does not mean I will go and read other Zombie books but I can say that I have read at least one now.

 

After finishing with World War Z I decided to try and knock out a book that has been on my Currently Reading shelf for several months. I started The Scorpio Races back in July 2012 but set it aside for review books and because I needed a break from the double first person that the book is written in. When I picked it back up last week I decided to switch to the audio book version of it. In doing so I started from the beginning since it had been so long since I last read the first half of the book I needed a refresher on what had happened. I really enjoyed the audio book version and am glad that I finally finished this book as the ending was so good.

Next up was X Marks The Scot. Alright, let me say right now that the only reason I even picked up this book was because I needed a book that started with an X in the title for my A-Z challenge. In the end though the book was fairly good, I can’t say that it jumped out as an amazing read but neither was it a bad read, it was just an average book. I’ll be posted a review later this month.

 

 

Yesterday saw the start and finish of Duke: Deputy Cowboy the third book in the Harts of the Rodeo series. It was a good quick read, though I can’t say anything popped out in it as being amazing compared to other books I have read I did enjoy the story and the relationship that grew between Duke, Angie and her son Luke. I will mention though that the dog on the cover does not match the description of Zorro, the dog in the book, as he had a black mask marking over his eyes where as the dog on the cover is your typical German Shepard coloring.

Along with these books I also put some progress into the others that have been on my Currently Reading Shelf for some time. Daughter of the Blood only gained a few pages simply because I find the story still confusing and there are far too many instances where it is jumping back and fourth among too many characters. The Forgotten Queen is getting close to being done, as I’m sitting at around seventy-five percent done. I did not get any progress done on Throne of Glass however.

Books I Plan To Read This Week:

Since I didn’t get as many of the books from my Currently Reading shelf done I think I will do another week of clearing that shelf out. I really hate having these books sitting there unfinished. If I can manage to fully clear the shelf I may likely pick up Shadow On The Crown by Patricia Bracewell. With four other books to finish first before getting to this one I won’t plan beyond this.

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • Zombies aren’t for everyone. I’ve heard The Walking Dead is good but since I rarely watch TV and I’d be super behind on the series I doubt I will start watching any time soon. Have a great reading week as well.

  1. I’ve avoided the zombie craze myself, but people really seem to love World War Z.

    I don’t have a Currently Reading shelf, but I do have a to-be-read shelf. I try to switch between the books on that shelf and all the books I get from the library!

    • Yeah a lot of people love World War Z and I can see why. If there is only one zombie book to read I’d pick that one. I normally don’t have a currently reading shelf so to speak but since I have a pile of unfinished books they became that shelf until it was cleared. Hope you have a good reading week.

  2. All of my zombie experiences rests in film, and I’ve yet to read a “real” zombie book — unless you count Something Strange & Deadly, which has less zombie action than I’d hoped for. I’ve seen World War Z in the bookstore and have come close to buying it several times, and the same goes for Scorpio Races. Some day I’ll get to both… eventually. Glad to hear you enjoyed Brooks’ book, though! I will keep an eye out for your review.

    • My experience with zombie films is even less than with zombie books, I can’t think of a single zombie movie that I’ve actually watched. I’d certainly recommend both books to pick up whenever you have time. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

