I’ts Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
Jaina Proudemoore: Tides of War by Christie Golden

Last week was pretty good reading wise all things considered. My son was sick for a couple of days so even though a lot of my time and energy went into taking care of him it also gave me a good chunk of reading time while he rested in the other room. I did however manage to tackle my Currently Reading shelf, leaving only Daughter of the Blood left unfinished and that one I am setting aside for the time being.

Books I Read Last Week:

First up I finished The Forgotten Queen. I’m still not sure how I feel about this books. It’s one of those books where I need to sit and think about it for some time before writing my review. I did enjoy it yet I can’t decide what about it I did like and what about it I didn’t.

 

 

 

 

Naked In Death I both started and finished this week. The book is the monthly read over at the Vaginal Fantasy Hangout on Goodreads so I wanted to take time time to make sure I got to it before the book club hangout happened on Tuesday. My opinions will be saved on this book until I post a review though I did listen to the audio book version since it had been on sale for dirt cheap on Audible. One thing I will say now was that the narrator was good.

 

 

After sitting untouched for several months I got back to reading Throne of Glass. The book started off real strong and overall had a good story line that kept my attention but there were a few aspects about it that I disliked, though I will save those for my review. I am glad I finally made the time to finish this book and I can see why it was so popular when it first came out.

 

 

 

Wrapping up the week of reading I listened the audio book of Childhood’s End. I picked this one up during a recent sale at Audible and figured it might be interesting and if not, well it had only cost five dollars. I enjoyed this one quite a bit, though there were one or two things I didn’t like so much it was overall a good book.

 

 

Books I Plan To Read This Week:

I have so many reviews I need to finish typing up and post that I really need to take a light reading week to get them done. As such I am torn between two books to read this week. If I get all my reviews done in good time I should hopefully have time for both of these books.

Shadow On The Crown is one of my choices. I am slightly hesitant to start this one right away as I’m feeling slightly burnt out on Historical Fiction and so that will likely put a negative feel on the book right off the hop. However after a few days away from books I may be in the right mood to pick this one up, since it does sound very interesting and was so happy to receive a copy to review.

 

 

My other option is The Help. While I wasn’t originally interested in this book when it was published I kept seeing it everywhere and wondered if I was missing out on something good. Last week I rented the movie and highly enjoyed it so much that I am now very interested in reading the book.

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

8 thoughts on “I’ts Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • I agree. Books with a lot of hype generally scare me off because often times they are no where near as good as what people are saying about them. It’s why I generally avoid those books that are plastered everywhere, cause they are probably not worth the hype.

  1. Books with a lot of hype also make me want to not read them. But then I feel bad I’m missing out on something- like Water for Elephants. I’ve started it and I thought the writing was good but couldn’t get into it.

    • Yeah the more hype a book gets the more I wonder about it. Sure some of them are good and others are downright terrible but the only way to know for sure is to read it yourself. I’ve seen lots of good review for Water for Elephants but I’ve also been avoiding it for that exact reason, maybe one day I will read it.

Leave a Reply

