Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Series I’d Like To Start But Haven’t Yet.

I mentioned a little while ago in a post that I have so many series on the go that I have yet made time to finish, and yet there are so many other series that I have had my eyes on for a while not and just haven’t gotten around to starting them yet. Here are just a few of them in no particular order.

  1. The Hollows by Kim Harrison. This series was recommended to me recently by my best friend. I bought the first book but haven’t had time to read it yet.
  2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. Now in my defense these books came out just a few years too late for me to be in the Harry Potter craze age. I have watched a few of the movies, the first three or four, and I enjoyed them enough to want to read the books as well as finish watching the movies at some point.
  3. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I remember watching this series on TV when I was younger and really enjoyed it, but I just never got around to reading the books. At least I don’t ever remember reading them.
  4. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry. I have wanted to read these for years. Recently, as in about six months ago, I managed to find all four of the books, bought them and yet they have sat on my shelf ever since. They will be read this year no matter what.
  5. A Song of Ice And Fire by George R.R. Martin. Now I did start reading the first book a while ago, like when the first season hit TV but I just never finished it and didn’t get far enough in to count it as being read. I really want to read these soon.
  6. Camulod Chronicles by Jack Whyte. I love anything to do with King Arthur, medieval England and knights. Add in the fact I got these books for free from someone and I am a happy camper. Just haven’t gotten around to reading them.
  7. Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan. I bought the first six or so of these books during a sale several years ago and then I put them on my shelf with all intention of reading them. Well clearly that plan went out the window. Though I have kept up with purchasing all of the books as they come out.
  8. Dark Tower by Stephen King. I remember someone telling me these were good, kept looking at them at the store but kept not buying them. But recently I picked them up at a used book store.
  9. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne James. I love the movie version and felt kind of dumb for not realizing it was based on a book series. Now I need to get these books so I can read them.
  10. Percy Jackson and the Olympians & Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan. Lumping these two series together since they do share some characters and are written by the same author. I love Greek mythology so these books appeal to me for that reason alone. Plus the movie was pretty good too.

These are only some of the series that I want to read and just haven’t had time to get around to starting yet. With these on top of the series I have already started and the various stand alone novel floating about on my bookshelves I have a lot of great reading ahead of me, I just need to find the time. What series do you want to read but haven’t quite started yet?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. HP and AoGG super need to happen in your life! I’ve started Howl’s Moving Castle and The Wheel of Time, but I’m going to need to start over from the beginning on both, because I waited too long between books and don’t remember things now. So, I’m sort of with you on those. :-p

  2. Harry Potter is a must! I’ve read it on my own several times, plus with my kids a few times more, and always find something new in it. I’m with you on Wheel of Time, Dark Tower, and Anne of Green Gables! And I’d definitely recommend going back to A Song of Ice & Fire — so rich, so detailed, so amazing! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • I definitely plan to read Harry Potter, perhaps not this year but soon enough. And as for A Song of Ice and Fire I really really want to start reading it again, I didn’t get far enough into it the first time and still not sure why I stopped reading it since I love the TV series of it.

  3. I hope you enjoy HP, ASoIaF and the Percy Jackson books when you get to them! I don’t think I’ll be getting around to the other Wheel of Time books (read the first book but guh, too many other books to check out! lol) and I think I want to check out the Dark Tower series in the graphic novels format; I always thought it would look better visually.

    Here’s my TTT for this week =)

    • Thanks, I’m hoping I enjoy them as well. Though pretty sure I will enjoy ASoIaF based solely on the TV series. Yeah Wheel of Time is a lot of books but I think I’m okay with that. Oh I never thought about doing the Dark Tower series through the graphic novel versions, that might be work checking out as well.
      Thanks for stopping by, have a great reading week.

  4. I’m really surprised how many Top Tenners have NOT read the Harry Potter books. Crazy! They’re definitely must reads. I was also WAY past HP age when the novels came out, but I read — and loved — them anyway. They’re awesome.

    Oh, and I didn’t realize LONESOME DOVE was a series. I read the first one a long time ago and enjoyed it. Maybe I should continue on with the series …

    Glad to have found you via TTT!

    • I know! That one and A Song of Ice and Fire have been on so many lists today. Both shocked me by how frequent I saw them. I practically get yelled at each time I tell someone I’ve never read HP, so for my safety I think I need to read them ha ha.
      Yes indeed Lonesome Dove is a series. The next three books are, in order, Streets of Laredo, Dead Man’s Walk and Commanche Moon.

    • Thanks. I definitely plan to read all those as soon as I can/ I own all the Game of Thrones books but will have to track down the Harry Potter and Anne of Green Gables books at some point in the future. I know my “local” used bookstore has the Harry Potter ones.

  5. So many books here that have been sitting on my to-read shelf forever and I neglected to add to my TTT list! Especially A Song of Ice & Fire — the number of people who’ve recommended this series to me, wow. As for Harry Potter: I just started to re-read this childhood favorite (I never finished the last book)! I do hope you enjoy them. (: I read the first three Anne of Green Gables books when I was younger, and enjoyed them quite a bit — I adored Anne’s character! I’d love to re-read those books as well, and even finish the series.

    • It was hard for me to narrow it down to just these ten series, I have so many others I want to read as well but I settled on these ones. I am sure that I will enjoy the Harry Potter books since I did enjoy the few movies of that series that I have watched, all just a matter of finding time to read the books. I adored the Anne of Green Gables TV series so I can only imagine I will love the books as well.

  6. Howl’s Moving Castle is good, but VERY different from the movie. (Both versions manage to be amazing, though) The first book, the one the book is based on, is pretty good. The sequels didn’t quite match up. If you like audio books, the one for Howl’s is really good. I’m not going to comment on not having read Harry Potter, it’s too heartbreaking.

    Dark Tower is one that I really want to start as well!

    • I’ve heard it’s quite different from the books, but that’s okay, most books that get turned into movies are quite different. I do enjoy audiobooks but I already have the first two on paperback. My apologies for the Harry Potter thing.

  7. Yay! Great list 🙂 Ahh, I love the movie of Howl’s Moving Castle ❤ I do own the three books, also hoping to read them soon 😀 And omg. I did love the Harry Potter books so much 🙂 Hope you will too 😉
    Thank you for commenting on my Top Ten. ❤
    Love, Carina @ Carina’s Books

    • I love the movie as well, just thinking about it and the books makes me want to watch it again. Thanks to my husband I have the first two books now but sadly the store he went to didn’t have the third book, so I need to track that one down before I start reading them. Thanks, I hope I’m enjoy them too, I’m sure that I will.

Leave a Reply

