It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl by Gina Lamm
Beyond Valor by Lindsay McKenna

I had a pretty great reading week last week. I managed to read a total of six books and listened to one audiobook as well. I had a mix of books from various genres and those that I enjoyed and those that were less than stellar. This puts me a short ten books away from reaching my goal of reading fifty books this year. Obviously I need to make an adjustment to that goal but I’m not quite sure by how much I will increase it by just yet.

What I Read Last Week:

Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl was a pretty fun read. It had good humor, a few interesting twists, good romance and a good mix of characters. I already reviewed this book so click the link above to check it out.

 

 

 

 

Lynch was an interesting mix of western and horror. At first I wasn’t sure what I thought about this book but in the end I quite enjoyed it. I listened to the audiobook version of the book and while it was short it was good.

 

 

 

I picked up, The Foretelling, among the bargain books on Amazon. I’ve seen in before and considered buying it a few times but never did until recently. The premiss of the book sounded interesting enough for me to order it and while it was short I did enjoy it. I’ll be posting a review for this sometime in the near future.

 

 

 

Beyond Valor seemed like it had a good idea behind it, and I was interested in it after reading the description. The book however turned out less than interesting and in the end I was disappointed.

 

 

 

 

This was a pretty good read. It was a collection of short stories which each had a nice amount of gunfights in them and for the most part the good guy go the girl in the end. It wasn’t anything super special but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

 

 

 

 

I loved the movie version of this book and have been wanting to read the book since I first saw the movie several years ago. Since I recently re-watched the movie I’ve had the craving to finally read this one. I was interested to see how the book compared to the movie and while I did enjoy the book I think the movie was a lot better. Fun fact: The spine of this book turned my hand black and it took forever to wash it off.

 

 

It’s a book about a bookstore, why wouldn’t I want to read it? Plus I had heard good things about this one. It sounded good and I’ve recently been enjoying mysteries so this one seemed right up my alley. I’m not entirely sure what I thought about this one, I enjoyed it, finished it in a few hours but can’t say it was amazing nor was it bad, it was just a book I read at this point.

 

 

What I Plan To Read This Week:

I have seen a lot of positive reviews on this book. It sounds like a really interesting read and though I had originally planned to read it last month, it was the main pick for the Vaginal Fantasy Hangout club over on Goodreads, I didn’t get my copy until the end of the month so I’ll be starting April off with this one.

 

 

 

I might very well pick up Prophecy next. If I’m to ever finish this series I need to get on it. I enjoyed the first book and I’ve been wanting to get around to reading the rest of the books. This will also help me to get one step closer to reaching my Finishing The Series challenge which I have so far made no progress on.

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. My first visit to your blog.
    I started a new book last week called Fat Profits. So far it has been a good book.

    • Hello and welcome to the blog! I can’t say I’ve heard of that book but there are a lot of books out there that I’m unfamiliar with. Hope you continue to enjoy it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I thought Mr. Penumbra was very FUN. It was by no means amazing, but it was fun to read (if you share the author/narrator’s humor) and I liked the message of old and new coming together.

    Misery was the first Stephen King book that I really liked. I don’t think I could see the movie though; I have a much higher tolerance for reading about scary things than seeing them.

    • Yeah the old and new coming together and working for a common goal was great, and it did show/prove that sometimes technology isn’t the answer and old school research is the key. It was a fun read even if it didn’t stand out as an amazing, must recommend to everyone book.

      Misery is the third Stephen King book I’ve read so far and it’s definitely my favorite. I liked the movie better though, and oddly enough a lot of the scary content didn’t make it into the movie version, which doesn’t surprise me. The scene with the young cop would have been too much to put on the big screen back when the movie was made. I’d suggest watching it because, outside of the hobbling scene (which they changed quite a bit), it’s not really scary.

Leave a Reply

