Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — pick a past topic you missed or one you want to revisit!

There are so many great past topics that I wanted to do today but since I could only pick one I finally settled on Top Ten Favorite Covers. I judge books by their covers, yes I do, so I have a lot of pretty covers on my shelf and I wanted to share my favorite ones. So here they are in no particular order (since they are all amazing):

There is something about the cover of The Wayfarer Redemption that has always stuck out to me. I’m a fan of covers that show or reflect something that occurs in the book and this cover does exactly that.

While I liked the two other covers for The Scorpio Races, when this one was released back in March for the paperback I fell in love with it immediately. I think this cover does an amazing job of capturing the spirit of the book and especially gives the reader great imagery of the capaill uisce.

While I’m generally not a fan of covers with women in dresses on them I think it really works well for the cover of Lady of Ashes. With her all black grab, holding that single red rose in front of a foggy cemetery, it really does grab the eye.

The cover for Anna Dressed In Blood is great, it shows Anna, her bloody dress, flowing hair and most importantly the house she haunts. Now there is a version where her entire dress is red but I like this one the best.

Not normally the type of cover I would like and yet I looked this one for Grasping At Eternity. While it doesn’t necessarily tell you much about the book there are things here that are important to the story, namely the peacock feathers.

There are a number of different version of covers for Howl’s Moving Castle, and while I like them all this is the one I bought and love. It’s simple and yet the colors and black lettering along with the silhouettes of characters and items from the book really bring it all together.

The cover of The Mountain’s Call mainly drew my initial attention because of the horses. And while it’s not the best cover out there I do think it works well for the book itself since the horses are such a huge part of the story.

I love the cover of Charlotte’s Web.. It’s simple, it shows a number of the characters involved, it matches the style of drawings found throughout the book. And not to sound horrible but the worried look on Wilbur’s face has always amused me.

The cover for Mists of Avalon is beautiful. While it’s more on the simple side I think it’s perfect for the story, the mostly grey-blue coloring draws the eye towards the rider. Though I can’t quite remember why there is the swan there.

Not only is The Paperbag Princess one of my favorite children’s books, let along one of my favorite Robert Munsch book, it also has a great cover. Yes the cover is a scene/image from within the book but I love it.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • It’s the newest cover for the book, only released with the paperback last month, so happy they updated it even though I like the other two covers from before.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. Oh, I definitely judge a book by its cover! I’m so happy to see The Paper Bag Princess on your list — what a great book! Really nice choices. I love Mists of Avalon (although I don’t remember the significance of the swan either…) Thanks for visiting my blog! New follower…

    • I think a lot of people judge books by their covers even if they don’t admit it. The Paperbag Princess is a great book, my son loves it as well which makes me happy to pass on the reading love to him. I’m sure someone out there knows the significance of the swan if any.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • It’s the one Robert Munsch book that has always stuck with me through the years. I hope you enjoy The Mists of Avalon and The Mountain’s Call when you read them, they are really great books.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. The new scorpio races cover is gorgeous. I have the original (which really takes advantage of the jacket medium by using a metalic paper then printing the color over) but now that I’ve seen all three I don’t think I have a favorite.

    • All of the covers are great, but there’s something about the newest one that leaps out at me making it my favorite, though I certainly still love the other two.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. I’m not sure which cover for The Scorpio Races is my favorite; I think the two that I’ve seen (the original and the paperback) are both well done. I also really like the cover for John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars because it’s so simple, and doesn’t detract from the story inside it. (Also, it’s bright blue, which is pretty hard to miss in a bookstore!)

    • All three covers are great, each for their own different reasons. Simple covers work for a lot of books, they aren’t always my top choice cover wise but sometimes they work so perfectly for the book.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

