It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
The Autobiography of Billy the Kid by Ralph Estes
Queen of Swords by Katee Robert

I had a fairly decent reading week last week. The first half of the week flew by and I managed to get through three books in that time. After that however my reading ground to a halt. I hit a major reading slump, which may or may not have been related to the return of winter weather, and I also ended up hurting my hand which makes holding a book for extended periods of time a bit painful. Hopefully this week will be a bit more productive reading wise.

What I Read Last Week:

I actually started this one in the previous week but didn’t finish it until late Monday night. This had been the Stephen King novel I had been looking forward to, been told it was scary, the best. I felt lied to. I didn’t like it, found it boring to the point I nearly fell asleep reading it and barely saw any semblance of horror in it. I’ll be posting a full review of the book in the future but let’s just say I am probably one of the only people out there that didn’t like this book.

 

 

Autobiographies are something I don’t normally read and review but since I have an interest in the west and those who lived in it I gave ti a try. It was an fairly interesting book. To read my full review click the link above.

 

 

 

I’ve watched the movie Ella Enchanted more times than I can count, mainly because it always seems to be on TV, but I have wanted to read the book since the first time I watched it. My friend Taylor prompted me further into reading it by telling me it was better than and in fact a completely different story than the movie. It certainly was different and I really enjoyed it, though I’m not sure whether I like the movie or book version better.

 

 

What I Plan To Read This Week:

I was looking for something different to read this week and I settled upon Farewell, Dorothy Parker. I received this as an audiobook to review and am looking forward to listening to this and seeing how it is. I have seen a few reviews on this book that were positive and while I know nothing about who Dorothy Parker is, I will be doing a bit of research before starting this, I think I will enjoy it.

 

 

Song of Scarabaeus is the alternate book for this months Vaginal Fantasy read and since I already finished the main pick and this one came into the library on time I’m going to get to this one so I can hopefully have it done before the hangout at the end of the month.

 

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I really want to read ‘Farewell Dorothy Parker’ – who was she? A freaking legend! You’ll have heard some of her poems and gobbets, but not realised who said them first, I guarantee it. Gosh, I keep seeing Ella Enchanted listed one people’s pages and I did enjoy the movie – maybe I should read the novel? Have a great reading week!

    • After doing a bit of research I found out that I had indeed heard some of her poems but like you said I didn’t realize it was by her. I started the book today and am really enjoying it, about half way through it and can’t wait to finish it. I’d definitely recommend picking this one up. Ella Enchanted was quite good actually though there is such a huge difference between the book and the movie it’s hard to believe it’s the same story or supposed to be the same story. Either way I’d certainly recommend reading it since you enjoyed the movie.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy The Shining. I didn’t find it scary (which, I guess for a horror book, maybe says that it’s a failure) but I do love the way King writes his characters.

    • While I was disappointed that I didn’t like it I’m still glad I read it since you never know if a book will be good or not until you read it. Horror should be scary, and it’s a major reason I didn’t like the book, it lacked that horror/scary feeling. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of King’s writing style but it is fairly good.

Leave a Reply

