Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did.

There are a number of books that fall into this category of either liking or disliking them more than I had though I would. I’ll be breaking this list into two parts, one for the books I liked more than I though I would and one for those books I liked less than I though I would. So without further ado, here they are.

Books I Thought I’d Like More Than I Did:

  1. Carrie, Cujo and The Shining by Stephen King. I’m lumping these three books together simply because I didn’t want my list to be overwhelmed by Stephen King books. I had been looking forward to reading these three books and had read so many positive reviews about them, especially about The Shining and yet I found all of these books lacking. The Shining by far was my least favorite among them, here I thought I was reading a horror novel but turned out it was just some boring story that nearly put me to sleep. I had expected to love these books but walked away from each feeling disappointed.
  2. The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clark. This was one of those books that had so much hype surrounding it that I found myself wanting to read it, I wanted to find out what was so amazing about this story. When I actually started reading it I wished I had never picked it up, wanted to throw it across the room (but couldn’t because it was on my Kindle) and absolutely and completely hated this one.
  3. Beyond Valor by Lindsay McKenna. I had been looking forward to reading this book after read two books by this same author, and while I had read a book of her previous to this that I didn’t like the premise of this book sounded quite interesting. I didn’t like it mostly because it was bogged down with dialog and really didn’t feel like it was happening in a war zone which was the setting of the book.
  4. Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects by Christie Golden. I had been looking forward to reading this book for a while and had enjoyed a number of other World of Warcraft books written by Christie Golden. Yet Thrall fell far below my expectations. This book actually made me hate Thrall, something I thought would never happen. I didn’t even hate him when he handed over leadership of the Horde to Garrosh, I was mad with him yes but didn’t hate him. I almost didn’t finish this book that’s how much I didn’t like it.
  5. Big Sky Mountain by Linda Lael Miller. Cowboys, set in Montana, a bit of romance, what’s not to like? Well in the case of this book there was a whole lot of things not to like. I had expected to enjoy this book quite a bit but everything about it made me cringe.

Books I Thought I’d Like Less Than I Did:

  1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. After being burned by a number of books with lots of positive reviews I was expecting this one to fall into that category as well. I was more than pleasantly surprised to find out that this book was actually amazing and that all those five star ratings I had seen were accurate. The best part for me, no love triangles.
  2. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. Wile this book came to me highly recommended from a friend I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it or not. Then when I started it I absolutely hated it and gave up after the first chapter. After ignoring it for a while I picked it up again, devoured it and really enjoyed it in the end, with the exception of the ending which I quite disliked.
  3. World War Z by Max Brooks. I really didn’t think I would like this one. Zombies felt like such a boring and overdone genre, much like vampires and werewolves, that I figured it would be pretty bad. However I have to say I really enjoyed this book.
  4. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake. I picked this up based on a twitter comment but honestly I was expecting it to be not that great since I didn’t think a Young Adult Horror novel could be pulled off. This book proved me wrong, I absolutely loved this one and was so glad I had bought the sequel at the same time since I picked it up as soon as I had finished this one.
  5. The Book of Deacon by Joseph Lallo. This was one of many freebies I downloaded onto my Kindle and I wasn’t expecting much out of any of them to be honest but hey I won’t turn down a free book. Admittedly there were parts I didn’t like about it, but overall I really enjoyed this book, was glad to have read it and plan to finish reading the rest of the trilogy in the future.

So what books have you read that you thought you would like more or less than you actually did?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I really liked The Thirteenth Tale as well. It was a random pick off the shelf — something I don’t typically do — so I was really glad it paid off.

    Another book I felt similarly toward is Gregory Maguire’s Lost. The first time I tried it I got bored and gave up, but I’m so glad I gave it a second chance. It isn’t a retelling of anything so it has a different feel than his other books, but I really, really like it. I am in an extreme minority on that (it has something like a 2.5-star average rating on GR).

    • I rarely just pick stuff up randomly off the shelf as well, but sometimes those books turn out to be really good. Can’t say I’ve heard of Gregory Maguire’s book before, but now I’m intrigued, I may need to check that one out at some point.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I’d definitely suggest reading it before the movie comes out, mainly because I’m not sure how well they will transfer the book into a movie. Honestly the movie preview makes me think it will be very different from the book.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. Yup! I liked Anna Dressed in Blood a lot too. And I’m glad to find World War Z on your ‘liked’ list as I plan to read that one next month. 😀 Great list. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • World War Z was quite good, really a great zombie novel for those who may not be fans of the whole zombie genre. Definitely recommend it as it’s well written and a good story.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. I liked The Thirteenth Tale but didn’t love it. I do remember that it took me a VERY long time to get through. And I can’t wait to read Anna Dressed in Blood! I’ve had it on my Kindle for ages.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • Well even though you didn’t love it it’s still good that you liked it.You definitely need to read Anne Dressed In Blood soon, it was really good.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  4. Embarrassed to admit I have judged Anna Dressed in Blood by it’s cover. I can’t stand the cover. And whilst I know very often the cover has nothing to do with the story – I just haven’t been able to bring myself to read it. But I think That I should. The synopsis sounds fantastic. I enjoyed reading your list 🙂

    • Nothing wrong with judging a book by it’s cover, I do the same thing most of the time, though sometimes I have been surprised by a good book with a not so great cover. I’d definitely recommend reading it since it was really good.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

