Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon

So I stumbled upon this read-a-thon recently. I can’t remember if it was on Twitter or while on another blog that I first saw it mentioned but I was instantly intrigued. After all I have been wanting to do a read-a-thon at some point this year and figured this one would be perfect.

The read-a-thon happens on April 27th, starting times vary depending on where in the world you are, for me it starts at 8 am. While I’m not normally a morning person I do plan to get up early that morning and start on time. For those of you who may be interested in participating, whether as a reader or a cheerleader, you should go to the official Read-A-Thon site for more details. There will also be mini challenges run throughout the event and I do believe there are prizes attached to winning those mini challenges as well.

I have a pile of older books I want to read, have been wanting to read for some time now, as well as some newer books and this event will be the perfect push for me to get to those. I want to read several books during the 24 hour period of the challenge though I haven’t settled upon which books to try for quite yet. I will also have a backup pile in case I get through the books quickly or one doesn’t appeal to me and I need a different read. I will try to make a few posts here, and of course I will update on Twitter as well, throughout the challenge.

Are you participating in this challenge? If you want a day of reading and fun I would suggest signing up and giving it a try.

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon

  1. I’m going to be out of town this weekend. I’ve heard of this one before, but I honestly I don’t know if I have a 24-hour read-a-thon in me. I like longer ones, where I can push myself to read more than usual, but without feeling like, “MUST! NOT! STOP!” But… maybe I’ll try the next time this one comes up again, I think they do it twice a year.

    • Ah that’s a shame you won’t be home for it, but hey there will be another one later this year since they do it twice a year. I’m not sure if I have a 24-hour read-a-thon in me either, usually crash after about 18 hours of awake time but I’m going to try my best to stay up and read the entire time.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

