It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
Duke: Deputy Cowboy by Roz Denny Fox
Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

My reading week started off fairly light listening to an audiobook over several days. As much as I wanted to read more throughout the week I was saving up the bulk of my reading power to participate in Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon. The read-a-thon happened on Saturday and went into Sunday. This was my first time doing the read-a-thon and I had a great time with it. You can read more about my read-a-thon in my previous posts. Though it was an exhausting time, mostly due to a trip the day before that left me tired before it even started, I enjoyed doing this and will be looking forward to the next one.

What I Read Last Week:

Farewell, Dorothy Parker was something I had requested on a whim. I listened to the audiobook version and quite enjoyed it. I won’t go into too much detail as I plan to post my review later this week but this is a book that I think people who know about Dorothy Parker and those who don’t will enjoy. There were a few parts I wasn’t too fond of but those will be discussed in the review.

 

 

 

This book was the alternate pick for this months Vaginal Fantasy Hangout and while I thought it would be quite good, the synopsis sounded interesting enough, I found the book was rather lackluster. I never got truly invested into the characters or story. It did have some good points but not enough for me to like the book. I may post of review of this one in the future depending on what I feel I can say about it. I may read the sequel at some point just to check it out but I don’t see myself rushing to do so.

 

 

I have read a number of Black Stallion books growing up though I cannot remember if this was one of them or not. I picked this one, along with a few others from the series, up at a library sale I attended on Friday and so I decided to read it. It was pretty good though I think I might have enjoyed it a bit more if I were younger. Either way I was glad to have read this book and will be reading/re-reading others in the series at some point.

 

 

I loved the Murder, She Wrote TV series and so when I found out there were also books I just had to get some and read them. I managed to find this one and one other at the library sale and added it to my pile to read this weekend. This is the sixth book in the series though you don’t need to read them in order. I did enjoy it though I can’t say I enjoyed it as much as had I watched an episode of the show. I will still be on the lookout for the other books in the series and reading those as I can.

 

I was introduced to Lenore The Cute Little Dead girl about eight years ago by a friend in college. I instantly fell in love with the series and borrowed a number of the graphic novels from her. When I found this at the book store the other day I had to get it. This was a perfect in between book read for the read-a-thon as it was light and fun. I hope to get my hands on the others some day and read and reread those.

 

 

What I Plan To Read This Week:

I started this book on the weekend but ran out of reading steam. I loved the King’s Quest games growing up so getting to revisit that world in a book is a great thing.  I didn’t make it very far in this book, only about thirty pages, but it’s quite good so far. I’m interested in seeing the world of Daventry again, how the story plays out and really enjoying seeing the characters from the game again. Finishing this book will be my first bit of reading for this week.

 

 

I love all things Tudor and so this book had an instant appeal to me. This is the fifth book in the Thornleigh series though I do believe it can be read as a standalone, I’ll find that out once I start reading it. I had seen a lot of positive reviews about this book so looking forward to reading it and seeing how the events in the book play out.

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

Leave a Reply

