Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light & Fun.

This is another list that I may have trouble reaching ten on. I don’t read a lot of things I would classify as light and fun, but I will certainly give it a try and who knows maybe in doing this list I can find ten books on my shelf that fit this category. While these may not seem like light or fun reads to some people they are what I would pick up when looking for something along those lines.

  1. Murder, She Wrote by Jessica Fletcher. Now I’ve only read two of these books so far, but I have found them to be great light reads and have a fun little mystery tied into them as well.
  2. The Black Stallion by Walter Farley. I’ve read this book a number of times since it’s a quick little read and is a good story as well. Great for horse lovers.
  3. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. It’s a classic and a great story to boot. Great for the young and old alike.
  4. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell. Another classic and such an amazing story. Even though it’s more of an emotional than fun read it’s a quick but great read that is good no matter how many times you read it.
  5. If You Ask Me by Betty White. A great fun and quick read. Lots of humor and a good look at Betty White’s career and the many other things she has done.
  6. War Horse by Michael Morpurgo. Yes, yet another horse book. This one is very much like Black Beauty in a way and is a really quick read.
  7. The Quick And The Dead by Louis L’Amour. A great, quick western read that has an interesting story.
  8. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. A fun little retelling of the Cinderella fairy tale.
  9. Farewell, Dorothy Parker. Not necessarily light but certainly a fun read, it’s got great characters and story and introduces a lot of readers to the legendary Dorothy Parker.

Well I almost made it to ten. I’m sure there are others that I have read that I could put on this list, but at the moment they are eluding me. So what are the books you pick up when you want to read something light and fun?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Ella Enchanted is so fun, and my daughter and I loved the movie too. Some of my favorite comfort reads aren’t so light either, so this week’s topic was an interesting exercise. Thanks for the recs!

    • The book and the movie are both really good, though I think I like the movie slightly better though that could be because I’ve seen it so many times. I think it’s a good thing to have comfort reads that aren’t necessarily light, it adds a nice variety to reading.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

