Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects (abuse, suicide, grief etc or something personally hard for you).

Well I have to say I don’t read a lot of books that deal with tough issues. They may be a part of the book, but I don’t go specifically for those subjects, however I will do my best to get as many listed as I can think of today. Don’t be surprised if this is a very short list.

  1. Rancher’s Deadly Risk by Rachel Lee. While this book is labeled as a romantic suspense it does focus a lot of it’s attention on abuse and bullying, namely the teasing of one of the high school kids and how that switches to the teach, the main female character of the story, when she tries to intervene. This book does an excellent job of showing how often times bullying is overlooked, ignored or played down by people in authoritative positions, which in this case were the teachers, principal and many of the people in town. This book also touches on the subject of suicide, which in turn was directly related to the bullying.
  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. This book seems to cover it all, drugs, alcohol, suicide, sexual abuse, and just about every other tough subject. Perhaps that is why so many people like this book or it could also explain why a number of people don’t like it, because the main character seems to be affected by just about every tough issue out there.
  3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Granted I have only see the movie of this, however it does a great job of showing the issue of racism in the south years ago through the segregation of whites and blacks. It also shows how the colored people affected in these events fought back in their own way.
  4. Fried Green Tomatoes by Fannie Flagg. Another great story that also deals with racism in the south back in the twenties. It also shows how sharing stories about such things in the past can directly impact someone today, or in the case of the book about sixty years later.

Well that’s all I can think of at the moment. I’m sure there are others out there that I have read that deal with tough issues however I am drawing a blank at the moment. What books have you read that deal with tough subjects?

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • That’s the same for me, I rarely pick up a book because it focuses on a certain issue, instead I tend not to read those or if I do there is often a reason as to why I am reading them.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I’m sure if I had have looked more in depth at my list on GoodReads I might have found more but I was content with the ones I listed.. I really enjoyed Perks, so it’s certainly up there as a great book for this year.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

