It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
Crime Scene At Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels
Cowboy’s Texas Rescue by Beth Cornelison

I have an amazing book filled week last week. Participating in Bout of Books certainly gave me an addition boost to my reading and helped me get to a few books that had been sitting on my shelf for too long as well as a couple of review books. I also put a significant dent in my goal to finish series of books before the year is done. In total I ended up reading seven books, and started a eighth, last week. I’m hoping that this pace can continue for the upcoming week and I can get through another big stack of books.

Books I Read Last Week:

After reading the two previous books in this series the week before I decided to finish it off last week and read Brimstone and Blue-Eyed Devil. Much like the prior novels I enjoyed them. They are quick reads that continue the story of Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch as they travel through more towns, righting wrongs and participating in a number of gun fights. There is one more book in the series that was released earlier this year that I will need to read at some point. These books are good for those who enjoy westerns but also books on the shorter side.

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde was something I’ve been meaning to read for a while now. It’s a very short book, only about 60 pages for the version I had and was a fairly good story. I can’t say that it stood out as amazing and it took me a while to get through because of the very different writing style but I enjoyed it none the less.

I was in the mood for a suspense novel and also something with that western appeal so I decided to read Cowboy’s Texas Rescue. I quite enjoyed this book as had a nice pace, lots of action, a good western feel to it and a nice addition of romance as well. To see my full review of this book click the link above.

 

 

As I was craving more western romantic suspense I burned through an entire series written by B. J. Daniels consisting of Crime Scene At Cardwell Ranch, Justice At Cardwell Ranch and Cardwell Ranch Trespasser. I enjoyed all three of these books quite a bit though admittedly I liked the first book the best. To read my review of Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch click the link above, the other two reviews will be posted later this week.

Books I Plan To Read This Week:

I received a review copy of Taking Back Forever from the author Karen Hooper on Friday however I had a few others book I needed to get through first even though I’ve been dying to read this since I finished the prequel Grasping At Eternity. I really want to read this book and see just what happens to the characters I grew to love in the previous book.

Since I haven’t listened to any audiobooks in a while I figured I’d get to one that I recently received. The Other Side of Death sounded quite interesting and I’m looking forward to listening to this book and finding out just what this story will be like.

I started this book last week but didn’t get a chance to finish it. I’m not sure what to think of it so far, it’s interesting enough but at the same time I’m not fully invested in the story. If I have time I will try to finish this book during the week and see where the story leads. All I know so far is it is very different from the movie.

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

    • Participating in an event or challenge really gives me that extra boost to get through a lot of reading, otherwise I probably would have read three books most likely.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. I remember I really liked I Am Legend. I like how the take is so different from a regular vampire novel, and how it also almost resembles a zombie novel. I have seen bits and pieces of the movie, but didn’t care for it. You’re right, the plots are very (completely?) different.

    • I’ve been enjoying it so far, and you’re right it is different from most vampire novels. It does have a strong zombie feel to it which I think is what makes it stand out for other vampire novel. Not only is the plot very different when comparing the book and movie so are the characters, obviously Will Smith looks nothing like the Robert Neville from the book.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I did enjoy the story, it’s certainly a very different take on vampires. The other short stories included in the book were good as well. I have to admit now that I’ve read the book I think they did a pretty terrible job converting it into a movie. Wasn’t a fan of the movie when I first saw it but now I like it even less.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I’ve read Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, but it was awhile back. I’m currently reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

Leave a Reply

