Book Review: Hideaway

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

The first thing that stood out to me in this book was the writing style. I have to admit after this single book I am a fan of the way Dean Koontz writes. He has a really great way with words, the story had great flow to it, with a nice mix of past and present, and an interesting story line. It was this main factor that had me reading this book cover to cover. The way things are written can make or break a book just as much as the story arc could. This book had great writing as well as a good story arc.

As far as horror is concerned I found the book to be lacking in that category. There were parts where I could see people interpreting it as or feeling scared reading it, however I never found myself scared a any point of this story. In fact I was more intrigued by what would happen next than feeling terror over the events that were occurring.  Because I was expecting to be reading a horror novel I did find myself a bit disappointed in this respect.

I did like finding out the connection between Vassago and Nyebern, which in turn connected Vassago and Hatch in a very unique way, though it made me wonder why none of the other patients that Nyebern had weren’t connected to Vassago. Why Hatch and not any of the others? It was intriguing for sure but I don’t remember it being explaining in particular why Hatch had that connection to Vassago and I would have liked to find out why.

There was a fairly decent amount of death in this book and perhaps that is where the classification of horror comes from but since a lot of the deaths were not openly described in their complete brutality I found myself a bit bored with it. I think had the details of each murder, especially of the private investigator and some of Vassago’s earlier kills, been given then I might have had more respect for the book as a horror novel.

Overall I enjoyed this book, it had an interesting story, really great writing but it’s lack of horror really made me walk away from it with an overall lacking feeling. I had been expecting to read the scariest book ever, as it had been highly recommended to me at the book store when I asked for a scare the crap out of me book, and instead I felt robbed of that experience. I would recommend this book to others as I am sure there are plenty of people out there who will enjoy this book either as a horror or thriller novel and I will certainly make an effort to read more of Dean Koontz’ works in the future as I do enjoy his writing style. However I think I will approach his other books as a thriller instead of horror so that I am not disappointed in the end.

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Hideaway

  1. I haven’t read this one, but the first book by Dean Koontz I read was “The house of thunder” and it freaked me out! It’s about russian brainwashing and I was so scared, but I couldn’t stop reading. To be fair, I think I was 15 years old, so I’m not sure it would have the same effect on me now, but it’s definitely up there with the scariest books I’ve ever read! (The list includes “Bless the child” and “The seventh child”. Someone once gave me a copy of “The silence of the lambs” but I had seen the movie and couldn’t even imagine reading the book. Just having it at home freaked me out. I had to give it away.) I guess I am kind of easily spooked!

    • Oh, The House of Thunder actually sounds pretty interesting, I might need to see if I can get that one from the library at some point. I do have a few other Dean Koontz books laying around that I will read later on. I want to read Silence of The Lambs even though I didn’t find the movie scary at all, I just love that story. I do think that age does play a large role in whether you find a book or movie scary or not, at this point in my life things rarely freak me out but I am on the lookout for books or movies that have that potential.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I am hit or miss with Dean Koontz, I like a lot of his older work quite a bit – Phantoms, Intensity, Strangers, Watchers, and The Taking are all very good. Phantoms was turned into a very awful movie starring Ben Affleck (during his dark days of acting). If you’re looking for more by him, I would highly recommend starting with Watchers and Phantoms.

    • I’ve heard people say similar things about Dean Koontz, how they really like some of his books and dislike others. Since I’ve only read one so far I can’t really judge him too much. I actually have watchers on my to-read list, it was recommended to me a while ago by my best friend, though I’ll probably add the others as well. Always looking for good horror books, or just good books in general.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. I always thought I would hate horror books, just like I hate horror movies, because I hate being scared. Some people seek out that feeling, but I’ve always avoided it.

    But the few horror books I’ve read haven’t been scary at all and make me want to read more. Maybe reading just isn’t immersive enough without the sights and sounds… or maybe it’s that my brain, knowing that I can’t handle it, protects me by not fully interpreting what I’m reading (because really, it just feels WRONG to say that reading isn’t an immersive experience). At any rate, I definitely approach horror more as an extension of thriller; in my case, that’s exactly what I’m looking for.

    • For me I love horror movies but I don’t watch them as frequently as I used to just because I feel like nothing is really new in any of the more recent movies, it’s all just the same scare tactics over and over again.
      Oddly enough my husband and I were talking about something similar to that, and we both agree that it may actually be harder to scare someone in a book than a movie, simply because movies give you all those visual and sound cues that add to the suspense and horror of the story, while what’s written on a page is ‘just words and therefore can’t hurt you’.

Leave a Reply

