Armchair BEA Introduction & Classic Literature

This week I am participating in Armchair BEA, which is the virtual version of Book Expo America for those who cannot attend the conference in New York. This is my first time joining Armchair BEA and I am definitely looking forward to it. Each day there will be a particular theme and each of my posts will be according to that days theme, so be sure to stop by as the week progresses to check everything out. Today is where all of the participants introduce themselves, and to do that we were asked to answer five of the ten questions provided so we can all learn a bit about each other. Here are my answers. We will also be discussing Classics today as part f the daily genre discussion.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Hello, my name is Sarah and I live in a small town on the north shore of Lake Superior in Ontario Canada. I am a stay-at-home mom of one. I started blogging back in July 2011 on another blog, mostly it was a place for me to talk about writing, video games and anything else that came to mind. I started posting odd book reviews there in May 2012 then in September I decided to start a new blog and devote it books and thus this blog was created. The original reason I got into blogging was just to have a place to write things and share some of my thoughts with whoever stopped by to read it. As for this blog I’ve always loved books but came from a non-reading family so really had no one to share my thoughts on books with, so when I discovered by the book blogging community I knew I had found a great place for just that. Now I have this place to share my thoughts on books and get a chance to see what others say about the book world.

Have you previously participated in Armchair BEA? What brought you back for another year? If you have not previously participated, what drew you to the event?

This is my first year participating in Armchair BEA. I found out about this a little too late last year but made a mental note to join in this year. I’m hoping one year to head to New York to hit up the BEA but until then the Armchair BEA is for me.

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013?

The favorite book I have read so far in 2013 is hands down Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. I loved this story so much and it’s a shame I haven’t had a chance to read the sequel yet. If I could pick a second book I’d go with The Floating Castle by Craig Mills, just because I got to visit Daventry once again.

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

This one is amazingly hard to answer. Over the years I have been introduced to a large number of amazing characters through various books, not to mention all of the great authors that have made those books happen. I would like to have dinner with so many authors or characters that it took me quite some time to narrow it down. To make life earlier on me I will name both a character and an author since I really didn’t want to list just one. Character wise I would go with Karigan G’ladheon from the Green Rider series. The reason being that she is strong, smart and able to handle herself in a number of situations. As for an author I would pick Fannie Flagg, based solely upon her novel Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe. Anyone that can write a book like that I would want to spend some time with to pick their brain so to speak.

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community?

I don’t think I would pick just one thing that I like about the book blogging community or one that is my favorite. What isn’t there to like about it? Between all the book recommendations, reviews, author interviews, and random book related topics there’s always something refreshing and new to read, not to mention there seems to be new blogs popping up all the time adding to the variety of things. Though I suppose if I had to pick one thing that I liked the most it’s the bloggers themselves, everyone has varying opinions on books, favorite authors, what is important to the book world. It’s these people that truly make the book blogging community what it is and I’m so glad to be a part of that.

Classic Literature Discussion

Today’s genre discussion is on the Classics. There are a few questions that can be found here that can be answered on this topic if you are unsure of where to start or what to say.

I will admit that I have not read many classics in my life. I can think of a few that were read way back when in high school, such as The Great Gatsby, Wuthering Heights and Lord of the Flies. I know there are others that I read during that time but I honestly cannot think of which ones they were. Some I enjoyed and others I was less than happy about having to read, however even though I may not always enjoy them I know that classics have a great important to literature as a whole so I do respect them and their authors.

What are your favorite classics?

Though my experience with classics is limited there are a few that I have enjoyed quite a bit. Lord of the Flies by William Golding has stuck with me since I read it in high school. I really enjoyed this story and recommend it to anyone who hasn’t read it. I also remember enjoying The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald back then, though the details of what happens within that story are vague at best, it’s something I need to re-read at some point. Recently I read Call of the Wild by Jack London and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson and enjoyed both of these in their own way. And of course how can I not mention The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.

If you could give a list of classics to someone who claims to hate them to make them change their mind, what would be on it?

I think I would try to find something that fit with what they enjoy reading, however with my limited classics knowledge and experience I would suggest many of the books listed above. The Chronicles of Narnia is great for a slightly younger audience, though really almost any age group can enjoy these books. Lord of the Flies and Call of the Wild is good for those in high school or above as they have a decent amount of violence in them but still contain great stories. Though I haven’t read them I would also likely recommend Dracula and Frankenstein, purely because I have heard nothing but good things about these books and they are something I have been meaning to read for some time now.

How would you convince them to give classics a try?

I’d simply tell them that there isn’t a book out there that isn’t worth checking out. No one can know whether they will enjoy a book until they pick it up and start reading it, and it doesn’t matter what genre it is or who wrote it. Most importantly don’t think that because other people didn’t like it that you also won’t enjoy it, give it a chance and allow your own opinion of the book to matter. But as far as classics are concerned, they really are the backbone of literature and should be read and experienced at least once in your life.

15 thoughts on “Armchair BEA Introduction & Classic Literature

  1. “No one can know whether they will enjoy a book until they pick it up and start reading it”

    Yes, this is so true. I’m always interested in reading the varying opinions on any given book… even readers who typically share the same taste can come away feeling very differently. Fascinating, but also frustrating when it comes to recommendations.

    • Exactly. It may sound weird but I always look for the negative reviews of a book since I find them to be often time more helpful than all those five star positive reviews. Seeing that not everyone enjoyed a book is a good thing for me.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I am not a huge fan of the classics as a monolithic group. But when you start to think of individual books like The Great Gatsby or To Kill a Mockingbird, then yeah, I am a fan of classic literature. To get people to start reading it, it is all about finding the right book for the right person.
    Happy ArmchairBEA!!

    • I couldn’t have said it better myself. You can toss any classic at a person and the results may not be positive but if you find out what they like then finding them a classic that they will likely enjoy is much easier and can open them up to a whole new book or author experience.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Thanks, I’m definitely looking forward to it and have been for a while now. Welcome back for your third year, that’s great you’ve been participating for that long.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I think there are a lot of people out there who will say that Daughter of Smoke & Bones is their favorite, or among their top books, for the year. I would highly recommend checking it out, the sequel came out not long ago, though book three won’t be released until sometime next year, so you have time if you want to read them all at once or spread them out.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I don’t remember being scared by it, but then again I read it fifteen or so years ago so I might have, but it’s certainly a book I will likely never forget.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. We’re practically neighbors πŸ™‚ I used to live on Lake Superior as well, in Superior Wisconsin. Now i’m about an hour south of there.

    This is my first year participating in ABEA as well. I’m having a blast hopping around and getting to know new people πŸ™‚

    Have a great week!

    • Well now, isn’t that neat! Another Lake Superior, or close to it, resident. I’m having a great time with it as well, there are so many new blogs to explore it’s amazing. I’m trying to visit and comment on all of them throughout the week.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

