Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Tuesday Freebie (Anything you want! Top Ten Favorite Paranormal Creatures! Top Ten Books Set in Paris! Top Ten Books I Wish I Never Read! etc. etc.)

For this freebie I decided to go with the Top Ten Books To Save If Her House Were Abducted By Aliens (or any other disaster struck). This topic initially makes me cringe. I have hundreds of books in my house and being able to only pick ten to save is a sad thing indeed. However even with that disturbing thought in mind I was still able to easily pick ten that I would save without thinking twice. Of course we could all cheat and just grab whatever e-reader we use to save hundreds of book in one fell swoop, so I will assume this means paperback/hardcover books that I own.

  1. Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg. This book is so good that it would be among the first I would take off of my shelf to save If I had time I would also grab the DVD of this since I love the movie as well.
  2. Green River by Kristen Britain. Of course I would grab this books, it’s one of my favorite fantasy novels, I’d just be sad that I wouldn’t have any of the sequels with me.
  3. Wayfarer Redemption by Sara Douglass. Another fantasy but I love this book so much it’s one of the few books on my shelves that I have read more than once. Though again it would be sad not to have the sequels to this one.
  4. Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. I love all the various versions of the King Arthur story however this one stands out to me as one of my favorites so of course I would save it. I would also try to save the DVD of this as well if I could.
  5. Misery by Stephen King. I know I haven’t really enjoyed most of the Stephen King novels that I have read but this one is my favorite and so it must be save. Like all others that have a movie version made of them I would try to save the DVD if possible.
  6. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. Do I even need to explain why I would save this one? It’s an amazing story and I would want to have this one with me whenever I had to escape my house.
  7. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake. I loved this book so much, it was a great YA novel and while I didn’t see it as a horror novel I did like so many parts of it that earned it that classification that I would save it for sure.
  8. Watership Down by Richard Adams. This book must be saved without a doubt. It is such a great story that I would take it with me and add it to the save pile.
  9. The Floating Castle by Craig Mills. I would have to bring the world of Daventry with me whenever I was going and so this book would be among those saved. I really enjoyed this book and would want it with me.
  10. Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I happen to have the version that has all seven books in a single bind-up, so I would be able to save several books at the same time with this one.

So those are the ten books I would save if I had to leave my house for some reason. It would be hard to leave all my other books behind of course. I’d also like to point out that if I had any library books in my house at that time and I was facing a natural disaster as the reason for my quick escape I would pick those ones over some of my own.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Oh no, now you’ve got me worrying about what books to save! Ack! I guess I’d grab my Narnia 7-in-1 edition too, but what would I do about Harry Potter? I have a “favorites” shelf on my main bookcase, so I guess I’d have to grab one from each author and then make a dash for it. Let’s see, Diana Gabaldon, Stephen King, Christopher Moore…

    Great topic!
    My TTT

    • It’s not a fun thing to think about, only saving a few books, but it was sort of an interesting thing to list. Maybe they will make a giant Harry Potter bind up and save you from leaving any of those behind. Grabbing one from each of your favorite authors is a good idea, that way you’d have a nice mix of things to read.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. Great topic idea! I actually haven’t read anything on this list except for Narnia – but I would most definitely save that series as well, if I had to choose!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

    • It’s a great and convenient way to own all the books, though I admit I initially wanted all seven individual books but the price was right on the bind up version so that’s what I ended up with. Ha ha you can save it for the next freebie top ten.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

