Armchair BEA: Genre Fiction

Good morning. This is day two of Armchair BEA and today’s topic is Genre Fiction. Genre fiction is large category for things such as fantasy, Sci-fi, horror, romance, mystery, and more.

I’ve been reading genre fiction for many years now. However if you were to ask me what I read even five years ago I would have told you that I only read Fantasy and Science Fiction. There was no nudging me away from those two genres. I knew all these other genres of books existed but in my mind the only ones worth reading were Fantasy and Science Fiction. Obviously I had a very narrow view and opinion on the book world. One of the big reasons I stuck with these two genres was that a really enjoyed all of the world building that goes along with these books. I love a good story line just as much as the next person, however seeing a world explained and in many cases created by the author really added that extra element that I was looking for in my books. For the Fantasy novels, where a lot of them contain some form of magic I enjoyed that aspect of them, however that wasn’t always necessary for me to pick up and enjoy the novel, the wold building, characters and storyline were what truly drew me in.

Though this tunnel vision began to widen when I first encountered book blogging about two years ago. Suddenly I was seeing reviews about books from all different genres and while my interest was piqued I still remained solidly where I had been reading wise. But then I realized how silly I was being not allowing myself to be broader in my reading and so I told myself I would start reading books from every genre out there.

That was about a year ago and the push I needed to start this blog as well. In this time I have expanded into a number of categories, I think I’ve read at least one book in each of the genres, and I have had both good and bad experiences with each. While is still read quite a bit of Fantasy, and Science Fiction for that matter, I now have an amazingly diverse reading experience. One day I might read horror, then next young adult, then I might pick up a mystery or a romance. There is always something new for me to pick up and read. The blinders have been taken on and now I can fully appreciate the wonderful world of books.

Now, for those people who only read one genre I think that’s perfectly fine. Having spent years with my limited reading views I can understand why they remain in that one spot, it’s their comfort zone, perhaps one day they will branch out or they might stay there forever.

Let’s take a moment and look at one of the genres I used to avoid and why that was. For this example I will choose the Romance genre. Now, romance can be a part of any genre out there, I had read plenty of Fantasy and Science Fiction novels that had had romance aspects to them, but what I am talking about now is pure romance. I didn’t want to read those. First I thought the idea of romance was ridiculous, it would be all silly lovey dovey fluff and have absolutely no story to it. But most of all the covers were often pink and I didn’t like pink, I still don’t but that;s besides the point. Plus the half naked men on the covers also kind of freaked me out. Even now I think there are better covers to be put on these books then men with perfect abs. However, I forced myself to read romance. I kind of enjoyed it but I still didn’t think it was for me. But then more I experimented with the genre the more I realized that much like Fantasy or any other genre you need to find a book that appeals to you. I don’t like all Fantasy novels and therefore I also wouldn’t like all Romance novels. So through trial and error I learned that Romantic Suspense is what I enjoy most out of that genre, others may not enjoy these novels but they are what have me returning to the Romance section again.

Now I would like to share with you a few of my favorite books from certain genres. Perhaps by checking these books out you can find something enjoyable that you might not have normally read.

Fantasy: Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey, Green Rider by Kristen Britain, Dhampir by Barb & J.C. Hendee, The Floating Castle by Craig Mills.

Science Fiction: Ghost Planet by Sharon Lynn Fisher, Any Star Wars novel.

Horror: Hideaway by Dean Koontz, Misery by Stephen King, World War Z by Max Brooks.

Romance: Unforgiven by B.J. Daniels, The Wrangler by Lindsay McKenna, Colton: Rodeo Cowboy by C.J. Carmichael.

Mystery: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.

Historical Fiction: The Time of the Wolf by James Wilde, Captive Queen by Alison Weir.

Young Adult: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor, Grasping At Eternity by Karen Amanda Hooper, Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake.

Paranormal: Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison.

These are just a few of the many books I have discovered over the last year or more of reading. If you want a larger list that encompassed those I enjoyed but are not listed here among my favorites then be sure to check out my GoodReads.

14 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Genre Fiction

    • Isn’t it amazing how something like blogging can really push a reader out of their reading bubble and let them experience all kinds of new and wonderful books and authors.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. I love your header-I sat here for a minute looking through all the books for the ones I have read-about half.
    I read romance when I was a teen- that was pretty much all there was in the house and I wasn’t spending good waitressing $ on books! Now I mostly avoid it if I can, though an occasional sappy Nicholas Sparks does find its way into my library bag about once a year!
    Great post-thanks

    • I’m glad you like it, I had thought about changing my header a while back but just couldn’t bear the thought of it in the end, I like this one too much. Funny how reading patterns change over time.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. Great post! What I love most about blogging is seeing all the wonderful suggestions out there because collectively, we can all read a lot more than what I could ever do individually. I also appreciate it for giving me suggestions for titles in the genres I am weak in, like you mentioned above. Happy Reading!

    • I completely agree. An individual will never be able to read all the books out there but hearing about books from others can sometimes be just as good as reading them or allow you to find something you wouldn’t have otherwise known about. I hope you can read and enjoy some of the book I recommended here.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. Great post! I’m saving this post to look at some of those books later! I love almost any genre, I am really drawn to great stories and characters! I love The Scorpio Races, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, and Anna Dressed in Blood!

    I’m really into fantasy right now and I talk about it in my my armchair BEA post!

    • I’m glad you like it and I hope you can read and enjoy some of the books I’ve recommended here. Great stories and characters are a huge part of why I like the books that I do.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  4. The blogging community is the reason I started expanding genres too! I discovered a love of YA through it and I’m SO glad.

    I’ll definitely be perusing your list for books that I haven’t read yet. 😀

    • Having so many people to recommend all kinds of books really is a great resource for readers. I’m glad you were able to discover YA books through blogging. I pretty much discovered them through blogging as well and while I’m still on the fence on some of them I do quite enjoy the ones I have read. I hope you enjoy those that are on my list.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

