May: A Reading Month In Review

maywrapup

With June here it’s time to take a moment and look back at all the reading that was done in the month of May. I have to say that this was a great month reading wise. I got to participate in the Bout of Books week-long read-a-thon which really helped to bolster the number of books that I read. I have to admit I that I had a blast being part of that event and looks forward to participating again in the future. Of course I’ve also gotten the chance to do Armchair BEA, which ends tomorrow. May truly was a great month all around. In May I read a total of fifteen books which puts me well on my way to doubling my reading goal for the year, which is great.

So what did I read in May?

  • The Floating Castle by Craig Mills
  • The Call of The Wild by Jack London
  • A Palette For Murder by Jessica Fletcher
  • Hideaway by Dean Koontz
  • Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
  • Appaloosa by Robert B. Parker
  • Resolution by Robert B. Parker
  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Crime Scene At Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels
  • Cowboy’s Texas Rescue by Beth Cornelison
  • Justice At Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels
  • Cardwell Ranch Trespasser by B. J. Daniels
  • I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
  • Gin & Daggers by Jessica Fletcher
  • Children of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy

So which books were my favorite? I’d have to say The Floating Castle and Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch. Getting to revisit the world of Daventry in The Floating Castle was great after spending many years playing the video games, the character’s were a perfect reflection of what I remembered them being in the game and then new ones were a nice addition. For Crime Scene At Cardwell Ranch there was a lot to love, the writing, the suspense, the romance, it all combined into a great book. My least favorite book this month is a bit harder to choose. I can’t say that any of the books I read in May were terrible but some were a bit lacking in story. I suppose if I have to pick one I’d go with either Etiquette & Espionage or The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde. The reason for picking these two is that I found that steampunk just isn’t really my thing so while I did enjoy some of the story of Etiquette & Espionage it wasn’t great, and as for Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde the story did interest me but the writing style was so different I found it a bit difficult at times to absorb.

Outside of reading this month I watched a bit of Friends, however I ran into a snag when I found out I’m missing a disk in the series collection, so I contacted the company about it and waiting back to hear what they say. I was pretty bumped about this, since I only have two seasons left to watch before I’m done it. We also had the start of some really nice spring weather, after what was our final fairly significant snow fall of the season, so a good amount of time was devoted to spring cleaning. I also started to watch the first season of Murder, She Wrote. Overall May was a great month all around and I look forward to all of the things that are in store for June.

2 thoughts on “May: A Reading Month In Review

Leave a Reply

