Armchair BEA: Wrap-Up

ce762-armchairbea3

Today is the final day for Armchair BEA. Over the last few days participants have been posting on the daily topics. Here’s a quick look back at what was discussed this month.

Previous Armchair BEA Posts:
Day One: Introduction and Classics
Day Two: Genre Fiction
Day Two: Blogger Development
Day Three: Literary Fiction
Day Four: Non-Fiction
Day Five: Children’s Books To Young Adult
Day Six: What Did We Miss?

This was my first time participating in Armchair BEA, and let me just say I absolutely loved it. At first I wasn’t sure what to except and wondered if I’d even be able to find enough to say to keep up with the daily posts, and yet I had no problem with it. Some days the posts came to me with little effort while other days it took me a while to get out enough that I was satisfied with it. I have to say that while I still crave attending the BEA in New York, I’m glad that there is this virtual option for those of us who are unable to attend for one reason or another.

Not only did the various daily topics allow me to talk about genres, blogging development and other things, they also gave me the opportunity to visit a large number of new blogs, as well as some ones I already regularly visit, and see what they had to say about each topic. While I didn’t immediately follow all of these blogs I now have a huge list that I need to go through and follow when  have a bit of free time.

Another great part of this experience is the number of books recommended on the various blogs. Some of these books I have had my eye on as future reads and there were others that were completely new to me but will still make it onto my to-read list. With so many different bloggers participating the variety of books and the genres they were from was simply great. Adding all of these books to my to-read list on GoodReads will be a daunting yet exciting task. I really look forward to reading these books even though my to-read list is already obscenely large.

However none of this would be possible if it wasn’t for the Armchair BEA team. This event was well organized, fun, varied in topics, platforms and I was amazed to see how many different bloggers there were out there from different countries. I want to send out a huge thank you to the people who made Armchair BEA possible, not just the Armchair BEA team, but as well the sponsors who provided the many prizes that have been given out over the course of the event. Between the blogs, instagram, twitter, accommodating various time zones, and all of the behind the scenes work on the site there is so much that these people do to run this event and let so many people participate along in their own way.

Overall I had such a great experience with Armchair BEA. There was not enough hours in the day to visit and comment on all of the participating blogs but I did try to get to as many as possible. I will definitely be coming back next year, unless I’m able to attend the BEA, and each year after that as long as this virtual event is run.

4 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Wrap-Up

  1. Great wrap it. It has been a great experience. This is my second Armchair BEA event and I do plan on attending next year. However, I hope to give myself a heads up and have calendered the event so I check for the early posts. Will be back.

    • Thanks. It really is a great experience and allows for so many different interactions and topics to be covered in a relatively small amount of time. Good idea planning for it ahead of time.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I’m so glad I joined in this year. I’ve participated to different degrees in the past, but I’m really glad I committed to it and gave it my full attention this year. Such a great feeling of community, so many great bloggers, and so many great recommendations!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

