It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
Taking Back Forever by Karen Amanda Hooper

I didn’t get as much reading done last week as I was hoping for, though with family visiting I hadn’t expected to have much free time to read with. Yet even after they left I found myself in a reading slump that persisted until yesterday. I’m still slightly in that reading slump but hoping to fully crawl my way out of it in this coming week.

What I Read Last Week:

I was lucky enough to be provided with an ARC of Taking Back Forever from the author and was so glad to have gotten it. While I didn’t get to really sink my teeth into it until late last week I really enjoyed this book, the characters, the storyline, the plot twists and now I am anxiously awaiting book three. To see my full review of this book please click on the link above.

 

 

 

I picked this book up since I was looking for something on the lighter side to read as well as something that had no review obligations. This is the fourth Murder, She Wrote book that I have read so far and while I enjoyed it I have to say it is so far my least favorite among them. I can’t put my finger on exactly why I didn’t enjoy it as much as the others but there seemed to be something missing in this one. Either way I’ll be reading more of these in the future as they do a great job of cleansing my reading palette so to speak.

 

What I Plan To Read This Week:

I’m quite looking forward to reading this book and was happy to see that my request to review it had been accepted. It sounds interesting and while it will start yet another series for me I believe I will enjoy this one.

 

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have a friend who swears he can tell who the murderer is in every episode of Murder She Wrote using a simple formula, lol. I sort of wonder if it would work with the books!

    • Interesting. It might work with the books as well, since they tend to follow the same clue and suspect presenting patterns as the show for the most part. I admit I’m better at guessing who did it with the show since you can visually see things where as in the books it can be easy to overlook something you read about.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • That’s true, I’ve had plenty of days where I don’t want to read because my mind isn’t read for it. The family visit certainly drained me so even something I love like reading lost it’s appeal. However it seems to have passed now, which is good.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I didn’t know about them until recently either. Just happened to be wandering the mystery aisles of the book store and saw one. Glad that I stumbled upon them.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I think we all need those light, palette-cleansers now and then…though I have to admit I find it funny that a book about murder is your light read. 🙂 But I think I know what you mean! I read several long classics last month, and am feeling very much due for something lighter!

    • Yes I suppose my choice of light, palette-cleansing books are a bit strange, but the Murder, She Wrote novels aren’t as plot heavy as some other mystery novels. Oh yes, it sounds like you could use a nice light read or two after last month.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

