Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted byย The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Beach Reads (however YOU define a beach read!).

Well since I don’t exactly go to the beach, there’s not much good beach where I live and it’s not normally warm enough to go to the beach let alone in the water, I’ll call this my top ten backyard reads. Books which I am looking forward to reading while sitting out on my deck soaking up the few days of nice weather we will have over the next couple of months. Honestly these are just books I want to read, haven’t yet and will likely accompany me outside on the nice days.

  1. Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor. I loved Daughter of Smoke & Bone and what better place to read this one than out on my deck in the sunlight absorbing the continuation of this amazing story.
  2. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. Got this from the library the other week and have been waiting to read it since then.
  3. Stormrage by Richard A. Knaak. I’ve been slowly working through all the World of Warcraft novels out there and this one is next on my list. If I can picture my backyard being Darnassus, or some other Warcraft location, I might feel a deeper connection to the story.
  4. Hard Country by Michael McGarrity. What better way to enjoy a western novel than to read it outdoors? That’s what I plan to do with this one.
  5. Dune by Frank Herbert. Sure it’s a huge book but that means I get to enjoy lots of time reading it as well as lots of time in my backyard. Just need to make sure not to get a sunburn because I’m too busy reading it.
  6. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I really enjoyed the movie adaptation of this story so it’s time to get to reading the book and see what differences it contains, because inevitably there will be some.
  7. It by Stephen King. Technically I’m not looking forward to reading this one, but I figure the nice weather outside may lift my mood a bit and allow me to get through this. If not I can offer it’s many pages to the birds for nesting materials.
  8. Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton. I can almost see the woods near my house of part of the island in this book. Well not really but either way I want to read this one and the backyard will be a nice setting for that.
  9. Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey. I technically have started this one but I’m finding it too slow to continue. Perhaps reading it outside will add some pleasure to it.
  10. The Great Convergence by Joseph Lallo. I simply need to get my butt into gear and read this one so I can work towards finishing the series.

So what books are your top beach, or in this case backyard, read?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Well I can only assume these books will be good since I haven’t read any of them yet, though I’m basing my opinions of The Help on the movie for the time being which I loved. And I’ve seen nothing but good reviews for The Raven Boys.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I would definitely pick up the Daughter of Smoke & Bone series when you have time, the first book was great and I can’t wait to read the second. I’ve heard so many good things about The Raven Boys, the copy I have at my desk is taunting me to read it but I have to finish my current book first.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. Ahhh! Jurassic Park is one of my all time favorite movies, and I have just now figured out it’s a book. Thank you! The Help looks really good, and I need to pick it up soon. And I’ve been hearing mixed things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone. What kind of readers would you recommend it for? Great list, by the way.

    • I love the Jurassic Park movie as well, really hoping the book is good since it was the basis of the movie. I’d say that late teens or older would be best for Daughter of Smoke & Bone, it doesn’t have any sex in it but I don’t know if the younger teens would like/appreciate it, they might but I don’t know for sure. It’s also good for those who don’t like YA just as much as those who do.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I’m hoping to get to it this week. And yes, we should totally be best friend, not just from out kindred love of Jurassic park but because of bunnies too! I saw your two on your site, they’re adorable!
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

