Book Review: Eternal Pleasures

My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Let me start by saying this is the kind of book I likely never would have picked up without some kind of outside influence. And in this case that outside influence was the Vaginal Fantasy Hangout over on GoodReads.

I listened to the audiobook version of this book and I’m wondering if it would have been better to have actually read it. The narration was lackluster at best. There was no distinction between characters whatsoever. It was hard to tell who was talking unless it was one of those “he said” or “she said” moments, and even then with so many male characters in this book it was hard to know exactly which “he” said something, otherwise all dialog seemed to be non-distinctive. Even when someone was thinking something it was almost impossible to tell if it was thought, dialog or general description without listening to it a second time, the part before/after didn’t always reveal what type it was.

The names of the various male characters who played the role of the dinosaur shape shifters certainly made me give my head a solid shake, Ty for Tyrannosaurus Rex, the triples Utah, Rap and Tor were obviously the Utah Raptor, and other shortened dinosaurs names filled the role of these men’s name. Trying to get past how crazy, and fairly unoriginal that was, took a bit of time but eventually I learned to ignore them as the story progressed. As far as the female main character, Kelly, I didn’t really feel any connection to her either, she much filled the role of human in among the circus of other characters and species.

The addition of werewolves in the story was partially a turn-off for me as I tend to avoid books with them in it, however at this point there was dinosaur shape shifters, demons and vampires it made little difference and a bit of sense. Why not throw in all the generic “monster” types? It sort of worked for the book in the end, but honestly I could have done without the story being drowned in monster type creatures.

While the narration wasn’t good, the character names were ridiculous, the plot was lacking at best I will admit it did entertain me a bit to listen to this book. It was one of those things where it was so out there that it was somewhat good. I spent just as much time shaking my head as I did laughing at some of the things that were said and done, especially the ending, that was the epitome of ridiculous. Will I read the others in the series? Probably not unless I’m really bored and looking for a book that isn’t supposed to be taken seriously but who knows maybe I will at some point in the future.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Eternal Pleasures

  1. Nina Bangs!!!! I read one of her books years ago when I worked at a library and I was looking for the most seemingly outlandish romance novel I could find (since I passed them everyday shelving books). The one I read involved aliens. Beyond that, I can’t remember much. Also, Nina Bangs is a fellow Texan. This makes me ridiculously happy for some reason.

    • Well if her other books are like Eternal Pleasure then I’m sure they do a good job of falling into the outlandish romance category. Certainly not something I would normally read but it entertained me enough that I may read more of her work in the future when I need something different and crazy. Oh that’s awesome that she’s a fellow Texan.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

