Mid-Year Report

It’s the almost the end of June and that means that we are at the halfway point for the year. I figured this would be the perfect time to look over all of the book related goals I set for myself this year, see how those are coming along and what needs improvement. I set a number of goals for myself this year, some to do with certain books to read, others with book related things and others were the number of books I wanted to read. So let’s see where I sit with these goals and perhaps seeing them will give me that boost I need to push to complete the others.

Books I Will Read This Year No Matter What:

  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
  • It by Stephen King
  • The Horse Whisperer by Nicolas Evans
  • Tales From Watership Down by Richard Adams
  • The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle – read in February
  • Appaloosa by Robert B. Parker – read in May
  • Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
  • Wolfblade by Jennifer Fallon
  • Prophecy: Child of Earth by Elizabeth Haydon
  • Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War by Christie Golden – read in January

Overall Book Goals For 2013:

  • Finish reading series – finished some newer series but older series need to be worked on
  • Read books that have sat on my shelf for too long – working on this
  • Reach and surpass my 2013 reading goal – completed in March
  • Read Kindle freebie books – need to start working on this
  • Go to the library – completed in March and have been several times since
  • Visit as many used book stores as I can – only been to one so far and it’s my regular stop
  • Find more new authors to read – completed but also ongoing
  • Join a book club – haven’t even come close to doing this yet
  • Read more to my son – completed but also ongoing
  • Get my husband to read a book – completed in February

Now let’s have a quick look at all the individual read challenges I am working on this year and see how close or far I am from completing these. Or in some cases how much I have already surpassed them by.

Challenge: GoodReads 2013 Reading Challenge
Progress:
76/50 books

Challenge: TBR Pile Reading Challenge
Progress:
12/10 books

Challenge: A to Z Reading Challenge
Progress:
25/26 books
Still need K

Challenge: 2013 Dusty Bookshelf Challenge
Progress:
23/15 books

Challenge: 2013 Audio Book Challenge
Progress:
14/6 books

Challenge: Finish The Series Reading Challenge
Progress:
2/2 series

Overall I’m fairly happy with my progress on all of these goals. Obviously some need a bit more work than others, but with half of the year to go I’m certain that I can reach and perhaps even pass the remaining goals I have to reach. I have been considering adjusting some of my goals, namely those ones that I have already surpassed but as of yet I have not done that. Do you think it’s a good idea to adjust goals throughout the year or should they remain untouched? How are you coming along with your reading goals? Are they easy to reach or are some giving you trouble?

8 thoughts on “Mid-Year Report

    • I had actually initially thought about being in more challenges, but then figured it might be a bit overwhelming, now I know for next year to go for more. That’s great that you’re keeping up with your weekly goal so far!
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I keep wanting to rewatch the movie as well! But I keep telling myself I want to forget as much about it as possible so I can approach the book as a sort of clean slate, then rewatch the movie after I’ve read it since I know there are some differences between the two.

  1. I don’t up my level when I exceed challenges, but I do keep track so I can see what I ended up at. Of course, you’ve already finished all the challenges, so maybe you like having one or two left over? (Except for the K book. Maybe try Sutcliff’s Knight’s Fee? That’s one of my favorites from my youth.

    • I had originally thought of upping the level on my challenges but then decided against it and will just see how much I can exceed them by. Oh thanks for the suggestion for a ‘K’ book, I’ll have to look that one up.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

