June: A Reading Month In Review

junewrapup

With July here it’s time to take a moment and look back at all the reading that was done in the month of June. This month started off extremely slow for me, I had family visiting at the beginning of the month which left me no time to read. After they left I found myself in a reading slump. Though I managed to pull myself out of that I was then distracted by a number of things that didn’t allow much reading time, let alone free time. It wasn’t until the end of the month that I was finally able to sit down and really get through a number of books, a reading challenge over on GoodReads certainly helped to give me that extra push that I needed. Though I’m well past my reading goal for the year I don’t want to ease off, with new books coming into my house faster than I can read them this month has to be the last slow month for me. In total I read nine books in June.

So what did I read in June?

  • Taking Back Forever by Karen Amanda Hooper
  • Manhattans & Murder by Jessica Fletcher
  • Blood of the King by Bruce Blake
  • The Other Side of Death by Judith Van Gieson
  • The Loner by Lindsay McKenna
  • To Have And To Hold by Kellyann Zuzulo
  • A Reason To Live by A. D. Jones
  • Fallen by B. J. Daniels
  • Shoggoth’s Old Peculiar by Neil Gaiman

So which book were my favorite? Taking Back Forever was one of my favorites this month. It was such a great story, great characters and such an amazing optional cliffhanger ending, cannot wait until the third book in the series comes out. I also really enjoyed The Loner, I wasn’t expecting it to be good but I ended up really liking it.. My least favorite book was A Reason To Live simply because that book lacked any and all editing and was agonizing to read as much as I did.

Outside of reading this month I was a bit of a busy bee. I did two major cleaning jobs on the house, one before and one after getting rid of a large volume of clutter and donation items. I finished the first season of Murder, She Wrote then went on to start and finish the second season. I’ve really been enjoying re-watching this series, some of the episodes I remember however most are pretty much brand new to me. I also got to attend another library sale which saw a large number of books coming into the house. Overall June was a pretty good month and I look forward to what’s in store for July.

Leave a Reply

