Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Most Intimidating Books (might be intimated by size, content, that everyone else loves it but you are sure you won’t etc).

It’s rare that I find a book truly intimating. Big books don’t bother me since I generally like long stories and look at them as a fun challenge to get through. Content of some books I suppose could be intimidating in a way. Here are a few books that I find intimidating in one way or another.

  1. It by Stephen King. I used to think I would love Stephen King books, then I started to read them and realized I hate them. But I promised myself come hell or high water I would read It this year. Not only is it huge but I feel like it is going to be bad…no scratch that I think it will be downright terrible and destroy my poor brain.
  2. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. I always get shocked reactions when I tell others that I haven’t read this series. But I do intend to read it. I just fear that I might not enjoy it as much as everyone else has and be a reading outcast because of it.
  3. Howl’s Moving Castle series by Diana Wynne Jones. Not necessarily intimidated by these books but more so worried that they will not live up to my expectations. I love the movie adaptation of Howl’s Moving Castle but have been told the book is quite different.
  4. Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffrey. Though I have technically started this one, many months ago, I just feel as those the many people who recommended this book, along with the entire Pern series, held it in too high of regard. So far I find it mind numbingly boring and it looks like it will be one of those books where everyone but me loves it.
  5. The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke. I hated the first book in this series, but I’m a bit of glutton for bad book punishment so I will be reading this one as well. I have a bad feeling I will hate it as well then people will think I’m crazy because of that.
  6. The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Can’t explain it, but just have a bad feeling I won’t love this book like everyone else seems to love it.
  7. The Classics. Lumping all these books together to make it easier on me. Honestly I want to read lots of classics but I feel like I won’t understand or appreciate the stories for what they are.

Well didn’t quite make it to ten but like I said I don’t often find books intimidating. So what books do you find intimidating and why?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Honestly after recently reading The Shinning I have a feeling IT will be beyond boring to read. Though if I even get insomnia I think I know the books to read in order to cure it. That’ true, sometimes knowing very little about a book is better than knowing a lot of already having some expectations about it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. I like how you lumped the classics together. Although I’m undertaking a project to read more classics, the truth is, classics and I don’t have a great relationship! So most of them intimidate me

    • It seemed easier than trying to list them all or even just a few that I need to read. I’m trying to make a conscious effort to read them but my few experiences with Classics are not entirely positive. High school kind of made me less willing to read them.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. The book version of Howl’s is VERY different, but I loved it. I also loved the film (although I saw it after I read the book), though, so it’s very possible to like them both even if they don’t have too much in common.

    And the third HP book is my absolute favorite!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • See that’s what I’ve heard so far is that the two are vastly different but still amazing in their own ways. I’m just hesitant to dive into the book that inspired the movie, plus my TBR shelf is daunting and there are older books I must get to first. One day I will read HP, but I either need to buy them or borrow the set from someone.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Yes some of them…it’s just an exhausting thing to try to read them while others are quite enjoyable. Oh, good idea watching the adaptation first, I might have to try that.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

