Book Review: The Raven Boys

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just want to say real quick that I feel as though my review cannot do this book justice. It is so amazing and I’m not sure that I can fully express that in this review.

This book started off nice and solid. I really liked the first chapter, it did a nice job of introducing the main character, Blue, gave a bit of background on her, her family, the town and also had a great ending which felt like a minor cliffhanger and begged me to keep reading.

Really enjoyed the myriad of characters in this book. Ashley who can play dumb so well but clearly isn’t dumb. Gansey who has several layers to him and is harder to interpret and yet an enjoyable character. Adam the shy awkward yet smart friend of Gansey. Blue who is complex and simple in her own way, is she the normal daughter in a strange family or is she the strange on in a normal family of psychics. I liked Persephone as well, she was this sort of meek and quiet but very interesting character. In the end each character was pleasantly unique and while some had fairly small roles I was interested to see what their part in all of it would be in this book.

The setting, the story, the characters, they all combine to make such a fantastic read. There’s that mystical feel to the book that goes well with Gansey’s search for the ley lines, Blue’s psychic family and other paranormal aspects sprinkled throughout.

The reaction from Blue’s mother of the reading from the man who simply showed up at their house and then shortly after the reaction to Gansey and his friends and their reading really got me excited. I wanted to know exactly why they reacted in that way and what it would lead to as the story progressed.

Loved the part with the old tree where Adam, Blue and Gansey each take a turn standing inside of it and each sees something different and each has a different reaction. Adam is clearly frightened by what he sees, Blue finds her’s sad in a way and Gansey sees what he has been looking for for yours. However it was what Adam saw that intrigued me the most since there wasn’t a full explanation of it, even as the story progressed there was only small additions give away to what he had seen, why was he so frightened of what he had seen? However it’s around this part of the story I was also getting a bit worried. The reason for the being is that I was starting to get a bit of a love triangle vibe from Gansey, Adam and Blue, and I really, really did not want a love triangle in this story. The story is amazing up to this part and love triangles always ruin stories, they are highly unnecessary and I just kept hoping and praying that this was not the case here, that I was just looking into things a bit too deeply.

The twist with Noah was quite shocking and it put a lot of things in a new perspective. Things connecting several characters and events to Whelk and Noah was also a nice progression of the story and made a lot of the earlier tiny things come fully into the light. Not to mention the strange happening in the forest/near the ley line, everything new that popped up or explanations for things that had happened earlier really helped to progress the story smoothly.

This is not the type of book that you want to rush through, even though you will certainly want to get to the end as quickly as possible to see what all happens. I just found that there were a lot of subtleties and small bits of information scattered about the pages, especially in the first half, that have a greater significance later on and when those connections are revealed it can be quite surprising. However if you were to rush through the book then it would be possible to missing some of these details and they will not have as big of an impact later on when things are revealed.

Overall I loved this book. I had not been sure what to expect out of it but I am very glad I took the time to read it. I cannot wait until the next book comes out. I need to know what will happen next. I highly recommend this book to fan of Young Adult, Fantasy and those who are looking for a story with lots of subtle shifts in the story that culminate into something amazing.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven Boys

Leave a Reply

