Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition.

I read a huge variety of genres and authors and there are plenty of authors I would love to see get more readers and recognition for their work. I read a lot of older books so some of the authors listed here may not be so well known but that is half of the reason they deserve more recognition. So here are a few in no particular order.

  1. Kendare Blake. If you only ever read one of her books (which would be a shame really, you need to read them all) then it would be Anna Dressed In Blood. She has great writing style, interesting characters and story arcs that draw you in.
  2. Karen Amanda Hooper. Her Kindrily series is just amazing. I love her writing and I cannot wait to read more of her books and constantly recommend her Kindrily series to those looking for something new to read.
  3. Maggie Stiefvater. I know she had a pretty big following already but after reading The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys I think she deserves all the more recognition. If you haven’t read any of her books than you need to go do that now.
  4. Craig Mills. Though he only wrote a few books before his death any author that brought the kingdom of Daventry back to life deserves some recognition. The Floating Castle is great for fantasy lovers as well as anyone who played the King’s Quest games.
  5. Jacqueline Carey. Two words: Kushiel’s Dart.
  6. Fannie Flagg. Granted I have only read one of her books but Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe makes her worth checking out.
  7. Barb Hendee. Co-author of the Noble Dead series, these books are some of the few where I don’t mind them having vampires in them.
  8. Kristen Britain. She writes the Green Rider series and while they are very long waits, up to five years, in between her books they are well worth the wait.
  9. Norton Juster. Because The Phantom Tollbooth is one of the best children’s books ever written.
  10. Caitlin Brennan. Her White Magic trilogy was downright amazing, I only wish it could have continued beyond three books. Well worth checking out.
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Oh excellent! I hope you enjoy it, I liked it almost as much as Anna Dressed In Blood. I can’t wait for Antigoddess to come out in September.
      Thanks for Stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I’d definitely try to make time to read her books. I’ve only read the White Magic trilogy but I know she has at least one other book, in the young adult genre, floating around as well.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Yes. I love how she also has different writing styles but each of them are amazing in their own way, like how The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys are written in completely different styles.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

