Book Review: Under The Empyrean Sky

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via Net Galley.

This review contains minor spoilers.

I will admit I was both intrigued and a bit worried about how this book would be. Could a book that mentions genetically modified corn be that good? Or would it turn out to be a waste of time with a flimsy plot? Because of this huge unknown, even though I have seen quite a few positive reviews, I went into it not expecting much so that in the off chance it wasn’t good I wouldn’t be too disappointed.

The good thing was that I didn’t need to worry. I ended up really enjoying this book and while I can’t say that I became attached to any of the characters it was the overall plot arc and flow of the story that truly appealed to me. There was a good mix of characters in this book, which helped to add different elements to the story and kept the flow going as certain events progressed. I have to say the first half of the book was really solid but then when it reached the Obligated part I was cringing.

The Obligation happens at about the mid way part of the book and it’s where all the seventeen year old boys and girls are randomly, or at least it’s eluded to randomly, paired up. These pairs will then marry each other in a year. After reading the description of a book it was obvious that Gwennie and Cael would be separated and big shock they were. This part I found disappointingly predictable. I think it would have been obvious to anyone reading the book simply based upon the events that happened before the Obligating but since the synopsis makes a point of mentioning this it felt as if they wanted readers to know that it would happen. It was just too typical and it made me suddenly dislike the book.

Obviously I kept reading, even with this blatantly predictable part, because I wanted to see what would happen and hoped that it was just that one part that fell into the realm of obvious. Thankfully once the book got over the Obligated hump the story turned good again. There was plenty of things happening and most pleasing of all was the big plot twist coming up near the end, in fact there were quite a few small interesting twists mixed in there as well. Then with the ending fast approaching there was a couple of action scenes which really just brought everything together nicely and left me wanting more.

Overall I enjoyed this book. For the most part the story was very solid and the characters appealing. Ignoring the very middle I have almost nothing bad to say about this book. I’d definitely recommend this one to those who enjoy Young Adult series. I will be eagerly waiting for the next book to come out so I can see just what happens next.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Under The Empyrean Sky

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this because I’ve enjoyed the author Wendig’s adult work and I really want to get my hands on a copy of this. Shame about the little predictable part, but overall glad to hear you liked it! 🙂

    • If you enjoy his adults books then I can only assume you will like this one as well. And really other than that one predictable spot in the book I fully enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the rest of the trilogy.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

