Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings In Books (talk about books that started or ended just perfectly or with a bang OR you could do specific opening lines or last lines — however you want to do it!).

Oh geez. This is one of those topics where I feel like I could easily list a hundred but then when it comes down to it I will likely struggled to actually list ten. Let’s see how close to ten I can get.

  1. Grasping At Eternity by Karen Amanda Hooper. This book really does start off with a bang and it’s one of the many reasons why I love it so much.
  2. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. It may not have started off with a bang but the beginning, as well as the rest of the book, was so beautifully written I couldn’t help but love it. Also the ending of this book was amazing.
  3. Crucible by Troy Denning. This books starts off like all Star Wars books should, with the simply sentence of “A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…” It may be my general love of Star Wars talking but seeing those ten words always get me excited.
  4. Ghost Planet by Sharon Fisher. Even thought the synopsis slightly ruined the beginning of this book it has such a great twist to it that I think it should be listed among my favorites.
  5. Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg. It’s not your typical book start but it intrigued me so much that I wanted to read more. Even if I hadn’t have watched the movie first, the start would have still drawn me into the story completely.
  6. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. The start not only gives a nice background on the races and a main character but it also really sets the tone for the rest of the book.
  7. Taking Back Forever by Karen Amanda Hooper. I know I mentioned one of her books already, but the extra ending at the end of my review copy made me nearly die of excitement. It was amazing. I need book three now!
  8. Watership Down by Richard Adams. Though the exact details of the beginning are fuzzy (it’s been about fifteen years since I read this book) I do remember instantly falling in love with this story. So clearly the beginning was something special.
  9. Green Rider by Kristen Britain. I love how the main character Karigan is trust into a life altering scenario right off the hop.
  10. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. As much as I was disappointed with this book in the end, the beginning of it still stands out to me. It may not be the best start ever compared to some of the others listed but it’s what kept me reading for a lot of the book. It reminded me that it had started off with great potential.
12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I totally agree with about Throne of Glass. I really liked the beginning of the novel, it showed so much promise but for me the rest of the book was a let down.

    • Yeah it was. I was really hoping after the story started to go downhill it would pick up again and be more solid like the beginning but sadly that wasn’t the case.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. I feel the same way about Thrown of Glass. I loved the Green Riders series until the last book. Worst ending ever and Kristen Britain takes forever to write her books.

    • Glad I’m not the only one to feel that way about Throne of Glass. I agree, the last book just wasn’t as good as the previous ones, but nonetheless I am looking forward to book five in the series coming out next spring. And yes she does take forever, wish they would come out a bit faster.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Watership Down is definitely among my top ten favorite books of all time. Oh my gosh you need to read Fried Green Tomatoes as soon as possible, it is such a great book!
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. The only thing from this list I’ve read is Fried Green Tomatoes, which is a great book, though it’s been awhile since I’ve read it, and I don’t remember the beginning… Perhaps I should reread it…
    Daughter of Smoke & Bone and The Scorpio Races are on my TBR list–looking forward to them both.

Leave a Reply

