Book Review: Dead Witch Walking

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This book came recommended to me highly by my best friend so of course I picked it up since we often have very similar tastes in just about everything.

I listened to the audiobook version of this book and found it really appealing. The narrator, Marguerite Gavin, did a truly great job of bringing this book to life. I loved the different voices she used for each character. I think my only complaint about the narration was there were a few time were she spoke a bit too fast and I had to listen to those sections again to make sure I hadn’t missed anything. Funnily enough I didn’t even notice the book was in first person until about a quarter of the way through, so clearly I was enjoying the story and narration to much to may attention to the way in which the book was written. First person seemed to work well for this book so I didn’t give it any thought after that.

Also listening to the audiobook means I’m not entirely sure as to how to spell certainly characters name, so if I have misspelled any of them that is the reason why and any of you who have read the book please correct me on those for future reference.

With Fairies, Pixies, Witches, Warlocks, Vampires and Werewolves the book has a plethora of mythical creatures within it which often times would not be appealing to me for the most part. However in this story it made sense given the back story. I found the aversion of tomatoes by the humans amusing even when ti was explained why they fear the red fruit. It was a genetically tomato that had killed off a large portion of the human population.

There was a really nice mix of characters in this book. I initially wasn’t sure about the main character, Rachel, however she did grow on my over the duration of the book. I’m very curious about Nick, he seemed a bit too convenient at times and too knowing of things, yet the fact that he was helping Rachel made me sometimes overlook is strange presence. I absolutely loved Ivy, even if she was hard to read at times given her mood shifts which was due to her vampire blood, the time of day and whether she was pulling an aura or not. I still haven’t completely figured out what all her motives are for pairing up with Rachel but that is something that I believe will be more revealed as the series progresses. Of course I loved Jenks, Rachel’s pixie partner, and his wife and kids were a great little addition to the story. Then there was Kisten, his part was small but I am very intrigued by him and looking forward to seeing what his part will be in the future books.

Of course I can’t forget about Trent. He was a character that I both loved and hated. There were some things he did that angered me, some thing made me respect him and other times I just wasn’t sure what he was up to.

The part where Rahcel is a mink and captured by Trent was probably one of my favorite parts of the book. There were a number of amusing sections during that time, and while a number of bad things also happened, especially to Rachel, they did work out in the end – or so it would seem.

Overall I truly enjoyed this book. I will definitely be checking out the rest of the series in the future to see what will unfold for Rachel, Ivy, Jenks and all the others. I would certainly recommend this book to those who love fantasy and paranormal books though really just about anyone could enjoy this book.

Leave a Reply

