Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier (maybe it’s Goodreads or your library or different resources etc. etc.).

You know, if I had needed to answer this topic even a couple of months ago I likely would have drawn a major blank. But now I can think of a number of resources that come in handy. I might not make it to ten but I’ll list all the ones that help me.

  1. Google Calendar. I don’t know how I survived without this tool before. I’ve only been using it since about May but it has made a world of difference for me. Now I have a set posting schedule and I it helps me keep track of ARC release dates as well.
  2. GoodReads. Obviously this, or similar sites, is a great resource for all readers. It keeps track of books and also allows you to see what others are reading and can find new books because of that.
  3. Book/Blog Journal. It’s not just for keeping track of what books I’m reading, but also helps me to jot down some notes as I read them, ideas for blog posts and just about anything that pops into my head when I’m not at a computer.
  4. Other Bloggers. This may seem like an odd choice but I learned a lot from visiting other blogs and it has since made things a lot easier for me. Plus they are great for finding new books and authors to read.
  5. Microsoft Excel (or any spreadsheet). This not only helps me keep track of all the books I own, but which ones I have read and which ones need reviews posted or have been reviewed.
  6. Organized Bookshelves. This one may seem obvious but keeping them organized can be a pretty big task. Doesn’t matter how you organize them (by author, series, color, etc) but keeping them nice and neat can really be helpful.
  7. Book Budget. This might not be something that everyone has to worry about but since I don’t work I do have to limit my book buying at times. Luckily my husband is pretty good about buying me whatever book I want but it can’t hurt to set some cash aside for that book you just have to have.

I feel like I’m missing something from that list but I really can’t figure out what that is at the moment. Either way, these are some of the things that make my life as a reader and book blogger easier. What things help your blogging and reading? Any suggestions for things I can add to my list in the future? I’m always open to ideas and suggestions on these things.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • It’s amazing how a site like Goodreads makes out reading lives so much easier and yet we also went so long without having it and did just fine back then.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

