Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Book Turn-Offs (You know..you are reading and then SOMETHING happens to completely turn you off — cheating, absent parents, multiple POVS etc.).

It takes a lot to turn me off books, but even then some things make me instantly put it down and never give it a second chance. Overall though even if something unpleasant is in the book I try hard to finish it anyways just because I hate not finishing books. So here are some things that are huge turn-offs for me.

  1. Love Triangles. I don’t care how good the book is before these annoying relationships turn up but once they do I have a hard time continuing a book let along liking it in the end.
  2. Switching Narratives. I am not a fan when part of a book is written in first person and another part is done in third person. Just write it all in a single narrative! Yes, it works on rare occasion but generally it’s just annoying.
  3. Abuse. Whether it’s physical, verbal or any other type of abuse I kind of hate it. I know abuse, especially in a characters past can shape who they are but actually seeing/reading about it is something I’m not a fan of. Though there have been a few cases where it worked perfectly for the book.
  4. Ancient magic paired with modern technology. I’ve only encountered a few books with this so far but overall I feel it just doesn’t work and makes the book less enjoyable once they are mixed together. Pick one or the other, not both.

Okay so it’s a short list but like I said there’s not a lot that truly turn me off of books. What are the things that turn you off of books?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I’m not fond of your #2 either, though it can work under certain circumstances. Off the top of my head, I know it was done in Annie on My Mind and Mal Peet’s Tamar. In Annie on My Mind, it was primarily first-person, with a few wraparound segments (and I think the Epilogue) in third-person, and in Tamar, the 1944-45 sections were third-person omniscient, while the 1995 sections were first-person, from the POV of the 15-year-old girl trying to solve the mystery of the past.

    • It certainly does work in certain books. One book I can think of where it worked and made total sense was in The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. But there are books that I’ve seen it in and it just doesn’t work and in the end ruins the book for me.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

