It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
The Black Fortress by Jim Melvin
Horses And Heroin by Bev Petterson

What I Read Last Week:

I decided to give Bev Petterson’s books another try and since I had a copy of Horses And Heroine to review that seemed like the logical book to go with. I honestly didn’t find this one much better than Thoroughbreds And Trailer Trash. To see my full review click the link above.

 

 

 

I then decided to pick up a short story that I have had on my to read shelf for a while. The Black Sultan was a great quick read that drew me into the story even if the characters weren’t as strong or didn’t give me that connection that I look for in a cook.

 

 

 

The next book I read was Bullying Under Attack and this one was fantastic. I devoured this book in a very short time and was truly moved by some of the stories contained within. There have been plenty of books about bullying published already but Bullying Under Attack truly stands out among them and I would highly recommend everyone to read it. I will be posting a review of this book later this week.

 

 

I’ve had Albert of Adelaide for quite some time but only this week did I get around to sitting down and reading it. This book fell quite a bit short of my hopes for the story and left me disappointed in the end. I’ll be posting a full review of this book in two weeks.

 

 

The next book I read last week was The Last Priestess. I wasn’t sure what to expect out of this book initially. It was a fairly good read although there were parts I didn’t particularly care for. I will be posting a full review of this book later in the month.

 

 

 

I had started this book several months ago and for some silly reason set it down and then didn’t pick it back up. Since I’m trying to clear out my reading queue before the year is done I decided to work on this book. Once I started to read this book again I was immediately pulled into the story and didn’t set it down until several hours later when I finished it. I will be posting a full review of this book later this week.

 

What I Plan To Read This Week:

This week I’m not sure how much time I will have for reading but at the least I hope to read Bellman & Black. I loved Diane Setterfield’s first novel, The Thirteenth Tale, and was really hoping she would publish another book. I will admit I’m worried that this book might fall short of my expectations but I’m still eager to read it.

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • I’ll be posting the review for Scent of Magic on Saturday this week. I did enjoy this one quite a bit and definitely looking forward to the next book. The review for Bellman & Black will be at the end of the month.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I have seen quite a few disappointed reviews over the book as well. I really hope it does hold up to The Thirteenth Tale since I know deep down I will be comparing it to that book even though I shouldn’t be.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

