Book Review: Scent of Magic

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

One of the first things that stood out to me in this book was that there were sections of it that were not written from Avry’s point of view. In Touch of Power the entire book was written in first person seeing things through Avry’s eyes. Yet not long into this book we were introduced to a section that was written in third person to follow Kerrick’s side of the story since he was no longer traveling with Avry. I admit these switches in narrative were a bit distracting and took a bit of time to get used to, eventually I found myself not really noticing it, but for a decent sized chunk of the story it did interrupt the flow of things for me.

I did miss not seeing Avry’s old traveling companions in the beginning. There was mention of Belen and of the two ‘monkeys’ Loren and Quain but their actual presence was certainly missed in that portion of the book. Knowing why they weren’t there made things better and when they did reappear in Avry’s life I was happy to see them once more. Especially given the circumstances of things before they saw each other again, it was definitely a pleasant surprise all around. There was definitely a sense of relief and happiness when those characters were reunited with Avry, it felt like a piece that had been missing was finally returned, though Kerrick’s presence was still missing as he was on his own mission.

This book had a lot of the elements that I enjoyed from the first book. There was the different elemental magics being used, Avry trying to hide her true identity, more knowledge about how and why the plague became what it had been and killed so many, and of course the different factions trying to fight for what they wanted. Though there was a sense of war coming in Touch of Power, it was much stronger this time around, It wasn’t just a feeling, it was a sure thing now.

There were a number of nice twists along the way but one of them especially stood out to me, though I cannot say which one that was because I do not want to ruin the story for those who have not yet read it. In fact there is so much about this book I want to mention but will refrain from doing so because I truly hate spoilers.

Overall I enjoyed this book quite a bit, the start might have been a bit slow to me and it took me time to get used to the switching narratives but once they story got rolling I was sucked into it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed Touch of Power. Fans of Young Adult books will also enjoy this series. I truly cannot wait until the next book comes out because I really need to see where the events at the end of the book lead to.

Leave a Reply

