Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books I Was Forced to Read (either by teachers, friends, other bloggers, reviews).

It’s not often these days that I am forced to read books but every now and then the pressure to read something everyone else has read and loved creeps up and essentially forces me to go out and read that book. Sometimes it ends up with good results, other times I want to throttle the people who led to me reading them. So here’s a list of books I have been forced to read, both recently and in the past.

  1. Shakespeare. I’m going to lump all these books together – and I am using the term book very loosely here. In high school I was forced to read a number of Shakespeare’s works and let me tell you I didn’t like any of them. Part of it was because I was forced to read it and the other part is because they weren’t books, they were plays simply bound up like books.
  2. Lord of The Flies by William Golding. Another book I was forced to read in high school, but this one I loved so much so that I recently bought a copy of it so that I could read and enjoy it again.
  3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. Maybe it’s because I’m not a fan of the classics but I did not enjoy this one when I read it in high school. I have however been planning to re-read it at some point just to give it a second chance to see if I will enjoy it now or not.
  4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Another high school read, however this one I honestly can’t remember enough to know whether I enjoyed it or disliked it. It too has been added to the re-read one day pile.
  5. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. While not necessarily forced to read this one my friend talked about it enough that I asked her to borrow it so I could see what the big deal was. I am so glad that I did, I enjoyed this one so much that I plan to buy my own copy of it in the future. Plus see the movie when it comes out at the end of the year.
  6. The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke. This was one of those “Every other blogger is reading this and giving it rave review so I had better read it” books. So I wasn’t exactly forced to read it but I felt the pressure to read it so I wouldn’t be the only one out there that had yet to read it. This one made me cry, and not in the good way either. It was just so awful that I wish I had ignored the pressure to read it and went with something, anything else.
  7. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. This book had been everywhere I looked. In book stores, on peoples blogs, on my GoodReads feed and ended up being a monthly read in one of the groups I follow in GoodReads. It was just everywhere. I felt like I couldn’t escape it so I broke down, bought a copy and read it some time later. Boy am I glad that I fell to the pressure of this books presence and read it, because wow was it good.
  8. Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison. My best friend recommended me this book, and when she tells me to read a book I listen. We have pretty similar tastes in just about everything but every now and then we don’t quite see eye to eye on everything (there is a particular tie died hat that comes to mind). I grabbed the audiobook version of this one and fell in love with the series. I have slowly been buying the audiobooks each month and hope to have time to listen to some of them soon.
  9. Stephen King Books. My love of horror has brought me to read a few Stephen King novels. Not to mention those few times when I’ve talked to book lovers and the topic of his books had come up and I admitted that I never read any of them, which was always met with shock and a “You must read them!” from those people. So I did, because he’s apparently the best horror novel writer ever. I strongly disagree with that statement but at least now I can say I have read some of his books. It just happens that I didn’t enjoy them.
  10. If You Ask Me by Betty White. It was strictly my love of Betty White that made me read this book. And I am glad that I did, it is a fun, quick, humorous read that I would recommend to just about anyone.

What books were you forced to read? Did you enjoy them or did you feel like you wasted your time with them?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • I always worry when I’m forced to read something but more often than not it works out in my favor. It’s definitely those forced-to-read treasures that make being a book lover so amazing.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. I wasn’t much fond of Wuthering Heights, either. Lots of the classics have female characters that are very weak-willed, apologetic, and prone to suicide or punishment for supposed wrongdoings. Even when the behavior is explained by the culture and time, it annoys the heck out of me.

  2. I completely agree with your #3! I didn’t liked Wuthering Heights in high school, and I’m planning to re-read it in January (as part of a read-along). I think it deserves a second chance.

Leave a Reply

