Book Review: Tangled Tides

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Books involving mermaids is something I have been wanting to read for a while now, however I had been hesitant about picking up anything involving mermaids because I wasn’t sure how well a book set in an underwater world would be. Though admittedly I also think underwater worlds are few and far between and want to see more of them. So in order to properly dive into the world of mermaids I decided to start with Tangled Tides. This book had been on my to-read list for a while now and I finally got around to reading it.

I admit I  didn’t feel an instant connection with the main characters, Yara, Treygan and Roman I did find the little twist at the beginning of the book involving these three to be very interested and I was definitely intrigued as to how that would affect the rest of the story. Also having the story written from three different characters perspectives took some time to get used to, even though each chapter is clearly marked with the current characters name and their symbol, which I loved how each of them had a unique symbol, I didn’t easily pick up on these changes for the first few chapters. However once used to these switches they really allowed the story to flow well between the three characters to show their individual stories and the one that ties them all together.

After the first thirty to fifty pages though I was completely drawn into the story and had a very hard time putting it down. I liked how the world was portrayed and while the world of Rathe is only seen at the end there are references to it throughout the book. I would have liked to have seen more of Rathe but at the same time I can understand why it wasn’t until the end, if it had been accessible earlier the story would have either been a lot shorter or very different.

I loved the references to Greek mythology in it. I love Greek mythology so seeing Poseidon, Medusa, and a variety of other Greek myth characters and creatures was a really nice addition to the book. I also felt that the mermaids in the book had their own uniqueness from mermaids in other stories, though I admit I am new to reading about mermaids there are lots of stereotypes about these mythical creatures and Karen Hooper gave them their own special vision.

The twists in this book were well planned out. There were a few I saw coming but for the most part they caught me off guard and I felt silly for not seeing them coming but at the same time loved how they managed to sneak up on me. Each time I encountered a twist in the plot I envisioned Karen Hooper sitting behind her computer doing her evil laugh as she threw another twist into the story.

One thing I didn’t enjoy had nothing to do with the story itself but the physical book. I found that it was very difficult to read because the ink used reflected light so at almost every angle and no matter what light source I used there was a glare on the words. This made me constantly have to shift the book in order to read it which did slightly distract me from the story. It’s one thing for a cover to be shiny but when the words within the pages are also shiny it can be a bit annoying.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and other than the slow bit at the beginning had me fully invested into the characters and story all the way through. I wish I could say more about this book however I do no want to spoil anything for those who have not read it yet. I cannot wait to read the next book, Dangerous Depths. I need to know what happens next. There are still so many unanswered questions and the world of Rathe to truly see and explore. I would highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

