Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Scariest Looking Book Covers.

It takes a lot to scare me. I watched enough horror films as a kid that I’ve become fairly desensitized to getting scared of things. Yes there are things that kind of creep me out but I can’t think of many things that out right scare me. Even so, here are a few covers that are “scary” to me.

Okay well maybe not exactly this cover. But any cover with a spider on it gives me the creeps and will keep me from picking up the book. But that’s my arachnophobia talking, not necessarily the cover itself. Anything with a spider on it, even if it’s just a picture, kind of scares me.

This is just so scary! I mean look at all that pink! Pink isn’t exactly scary to me, not in a truly scary way, but I definitely have an aversion to anything overly pink so it’s about as close to scared as I can get with a cover like this.

See those two words at the top there, the ones that say “Stephen King”. Now those two words are down right terrifying. Why you ask? Because in my experience Stephen King novels are boring and make me want to watch paint dry over reading the rest of his “horror” novels. So when I see those words on a cover, I run away screaming.

Alright, I thought I could come up with more but again things don’t really scare me. So this is as good as it’s gonna get showing off “scary” covers. What covers do you think are the scariest?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • I used to love the book as a kid. Then I figured out spiders are creepy as hell and now the cover gives me a bit of the willies. It’s not the cover I wanted to post but had I put the one that truly scared me with spiders on it I’d probably never visit my blog again ha ha.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. I didn’t use to find spiders scary, then I saw a picture of a bird-eating spider, and there are no words for that monstrosity…

    I agree with you on the pink explosion–just because a book is targeted towards women does *not* mean pink has to feature prominently. Not every woman even *likes* pink.

    • I man I definitely got the creepy crawly feeling just thinking about the bird-eating spider. So, so scary. And yes, exactly! I don’t care if there is a little pink, but why does a book have to be ALL pink in order to appeal to women? Any color works for women’s books, publishers need to realize that and stop assaulting us with horrendously pink covers.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

