Sci-Fi Month

Science Fiction month was conceived and hosted by Rinn from Rinn Reads. Be sure to head over to her blog to see the schedule of posts from all the participates of this event.

To start things off I’m gonna answer a few questions about myself and my love of the science fiction genre.

A little bit about myself

Well what can I say. I’m not good at talking about myself so forgive me if this is super short. I’m a stay at home mom who loves to read. I’m not good at being social and so I hide behind my computer for the most part. Keep reading to find out a bit more about how and why I became a fan of science fiction.

How long have I been a fan of scifi?

I’ve been into scifi since I was a kid, so for about twenty years now. As much as I want to say I got my start in science fiction when the Star Wars movies were re-released in theaters that would actually be a lie. The truth is I got into science fiction between the ages of eight and ten when my dad and I would sit down and watch Star Trek: The Next Generation together. Yes, that’s right I was a Trekkie before I got straightened out and found my true love in Star Wars. Since then I have watched scifi TV series and movies, gotten into reading books and played a number of video games from the genre as well. I did wander away from scifi for a number of years but recently I have been returning to it and this month is a great reason to do so.

Why do I like scifi? What is my favorite part about it?

Ah this is harder to answer. However I think the reason why I like scifi, and in fact my favorite part about it as well, is the technology and the alien races. Yes, it’s a fairly typical response for fans of the genres but really it’s why I enjoy it. Also the space ships, because come on how cool is the Millennium Falcon?

Favorite books/games/films/tv shows etc in this genre?

Star Wars. Hands down it’s my favorite for all categories. Yes even the old Ewoks and Droids TV series as bad as they were I still enjoyed. Other books I have enjoyed are Ghost Planet by Sharon Fisher, The Martian by Andy Weir, The Dragons of Jupiter by Jacob Holo and Under The Empyrean Sky by Chuck Wendig to name a few. I admit that I haven’t kept up with a lot of the newer scifi movies or TV series, though for a while I did watch shows like Earth Final Conflict, Andromeda, Stargate SG-1.

What do I have planned for scifi month?

For the most part I will be reviewing a number of scifi books. I will also be talking about the many series and stand alone books in the science fiction genre and giving some tips on where to start for those who are new to this genre. And of course I can’t talk about science fiction without spending a day on Star Wars, so I will be posting about this favorite series of mine.

9 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Month

  1. Oh I would love to take part in this but between my NaNo commitments and a book signing (Romance authors) that I’m going to later this month there just won’t be any time unfortunately. I shall look forward to reading your reviews though! (I have a few YA sci-fi novels on my bedside table that I really want to get to soon…)

  2. Haha, you say your response is a typical one but so far it’s been different from the others! =) The technology is very exciting.

    Have you played many of the Star Wars video games? Jedi Academy is so fun! =D I have to admit I haven’t read any of those favourite books of yours…

    Looking forward to your posts! =D

    • Ha ha, go figure, what I think is a typical response turns out not to be. Oh well. I’ve played pretty much every Star Wars video game I could get my hands on. Jedi Academy was pretty darn fun, but I have a special love for Galactic Battlegrounds. Well you know what that means, you must add them to your to-read list and check them out!

  3. I read a lot of science fiction (and am always looking for recommendations!) so i’m looking forward to your reviews. Of you books you mentioned, I’ve only heard of the Chuck Wendig title, so I’m sure you’ll have a lot of titles and authors to share that I’m not familiar with. And that is the best part about blog events like this, is learning about other bloggers and new books!

    • I hope I can provide you with a lot of good recommendations over the month. I agree, events like this are a great way to find new bloggers, books and authors to check out. Hopefully between all the participants you can find lots of new science fictions books to check out.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  4. Hallo and good morning!

    I’m a fellow SFN geek making her rounds through the different blogs that are attached to the event and I wanted to say that I have a warm heart due to all the bloggers who have roots of sharing their passion for science fiction with their parents! You’ll enjoy reading my post (Seventeen to Seven) about how I was first introduced into Trek! The Next Generation was a personal favourite of mine as the years clocked forward but there was a moment before it that never left me as being super special! 🙂

    I look forward to returning and seeing the posts that you elect to share with us! I am hoping that as the month tolls onward, I will find new authors, books, & series to dig into as I am getting back into sci-fi & high fantasy after a long absence! I’ve read quite a few lovelies recently (“Chronicles of Ave” & “Redheart” for instance), but other than those, only “The Golem & the Jinni” were ones I read this year! :O

    • The Next Generation truly was the best Star Trek in my opinion. Definitely still has a special spot in my heart even after all these years and even though I love Star Wars more than Star Trek now. I hope you do find a lot of new authors and books/series by checking out all the participating blogs this month.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

