Book Review: The Time Machine

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Having little experience with Classics, especially those in the Science Fiction genre, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from this book. Would it stand up to what I have come to expect from Science Fictions novels or would it be heavy and unappealing like many classics tend to feel to me.

Even not knowing what to expect out of this story I found myself surprised at home different it was than what I guessed it might be. It starts off a little slow as characters are introduced. It wasn’t until the man knows as the Time Traveler returned from his journey into the future that I felt the story pick up a bit. At this point the story is the Time Traveler telling his friends about his experience traveling into the future, a great deal into the future. While a lot of it is him explaining how he interpreted things in this new world and how over the course of the days he was in the future he realized how many of his interpretations were wrong, it also did a great job of showing this futuristic world through his discoveries and daily wanderings. .

It’s definitely not the typical futuristic book that many science fiction books are these days but I think it was quite a good representation of what a future many centuries from now could in fact hold with civilization and technology falling apart. The lack of technology, outside of the time machine itself, really gives this book a unique place among the technology filled and dependent science fiction novels of today.

Though I was not drawn in by the characters all that much, I did enjoy seeing this world that has regressed from what things currently are as well as time well beyond that before the story reverts back to the Time Traveler in his current day explaining his adventures to his friends.

While far from what I have come to expect out of science fiction novels I think it’s uniqueness makes it stand out as well. No I was not blown away by this book but I did enjoy it quite a bit. I still find classics a bit harder to digest however this book had a nice flow to it that made me keep reading all the way to the end without constantly wanting to put it down.

Classic lovers will likely appreciate this book more, however I feel that fans of science fiction will also enjoy it. The story can be slow to get through as the writing style is vastly different from what you see today, however I am glad that I finally sat down and read this and I think quite a few people have and will enjoy this story, even if it is very different.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Time Machine

  1. Some classics can be hard to get through, and I do agree that often they do seem rather heavy and unappealing. However I’m glad you were surprised by this one.

    It’s interesting that H.G. Wells work is still relevant – but I guess that’s the thing with sci-fi. It’s so fantastical that even with his ‘predictions’ of the 19th century, we still think those things could be possible one day.

    You should try his War of the Worlds as well, if you haven’t already. It’s not too long and it’s good fun – plus if you’ve seen the Tom Cruise film you’re in for a shock 😉

    • It’s really the main reason I tend not to read classics, because I find I just get lost while doing so. But when I find ones that actually appeal to me it’s a nice bonus. Exactly, no one can truly predict the future no matter how much our technology and world advances it will always be a mystery, but it’s nice to see that very different perspective in this book. I actually have War of the Worlds, it was in a bind up with The Time Machine, and I do plan to read it at some point. I did watch the Tom Cruise movie and I wasn’t all that impressed with it, so here’s hoping the book will blow me away because it is a pretty interesting concept.

  2. At least HG Wells was easier than Jules Vern to read. Loved the book and the radio play. I remember being frightened by the 1960 movie, though. Could have been my age. Liked the CGI and special effects in the 2002 version, but not the way the story came across.

    • I haven’t read anything by Jules Vern yet, but I have heard from a number of people that he is quite difficult to read. I also haven’t seen either version of the movie, though I might see if I can find them to watch at some point just to see how they compare to the book.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  3. Sometimes that is the problem with classics, they can be dry. It is hard to get into the books at times. I like really some these classics to see what the author(s) thought that the future would hold and if that is how the world looks like today.

    Overall, great review 🙂

    • I agree, it is really interesting to see how authors of the past envisions our future and to compare it to how things turned out. Sometimes they are close and other times they are very far off, but it’s always fun to see their interpretations.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

