It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!

Reviews Posted Last Week:
The Martian by Andy Weir
Freak of Nature by Julia Crane

What I Read Last Week:

Well Ender’s Game is not what I hoped it would be. I wanted to like it but overall hated it. It was just…I’m not even sure how to put it. I will be posting a full review of this book likely sometime this month.

 

 

 

 

Fuzzy Nation was a pretty interesting book. I had already read the book that inspired this story, Little Fuzzy, and was interested to see how John Scalzi would remake this tale. I think it was pretty true to the original but at the same time had it’s own uniqueness to it. I’ll be posting a full review of this book on November 23rd.

 

 

The Chrysalids was not at all what I expected. There was a lot of parts I didn’t like of the book but it did have some moments where I found myself getting into the story. I can’t say that I truly enjoyed it but I’m glad I finally got the chance to read this one. I’ll be posting a full review of this book on November 30th.

 

 

 

I took a small break from reading science fiction books and picked up Wyoming Bold. I wanted to read a western romance and turned to this book. It was a pretty quick read and while I enjoyed it to a certain extent I felt it didn’t work well as a western romance. There was romance in it yes, but it lacked the western feel I was hoping for. I will be posting a full review of this book on December 5th.

 

 

I requested to review Fields of Elysium on a whim. I’m still trying to find YA books that appeal to me, I have found a few but not as many as I had hoped for, and was thinking that perhaps this book could fall into that category. I was wrong. I did not enjoy this book very much. I had too many issues with it to enjoy it. I will be posting a full review of this book in December.

 

 

What I Plan To Read This Week:

I got The Boleyn King to review a while ago and somehow it slipped through the cracks. I really want to read this book during this upcoming week because it sounds really good and I love books involving the Tudors. I’m hoping it’s as good as it sounds and that waiting all this time was worth it.

 

 

 

After that I plan to read Cobra Alliance. This is another book I plan to review for SciFi Month and so I best get to reading it. It sounds pretty good and I have enjoyed Timothy Zahn’s Star Wars books so I’m thinking this one should be good as well.

 

 

 

What have you read recently? Were they as good as you had hoped or just alright? What books do you plan to read this week?

Leave a Reply

